You are here

C/O Berlin Talent Award

Supporting and developing emerging talents in their artistic development is an integral part of the C/O Berlin Foundation’s mission and work. C/O Berlin is an exhibition space for photography and visual media that brings people together and gives them a space to exchange ideas, engage in conversation, and create a network of young international contemporary photographers.

The C/O Berlin Talent Award is the only prize of its kind in Europe. Each year it recognizes the exceptional work of one photographer and one art critic under the age of 35. The C/O Berlin Talent Award honors one outstanding young photographer and art critic each year, awarding 10,000 in total (7,000 in the photography category and 3,000 in the art criticism category). Along with a cash award, the winning photographer is honored with a solo exhibition at C/O Berlin. A publication accompanying the exhibition is put out by Spector Books in Leipzig and contains work by the prizewinning art writer. Applications for the C/O Berlin Talent Award are not public and only accepted following nomination by the selection committee. Entrants to the C/O Berlin Talent Award competition are nominated by a high-ranking expert jury. The awards committee selects five candidates for its short list, from which the prizewinner is selected. The shortlisted candidates are introduced in the C/O Berlin newspaper and their work is presented online as part of C/O Berlin’s cooperation with the magazine Der Greif. Media partner arte covers the C/O Berlin Talent Award and the winner’s exhibition.

The C/O Berlin Foundation has supported the work of emerging photographers and art critics since 2006. To date, over 80 young talents have received support and been exposed to a broad audience through exhibitions and publications. These include the photographers Stefanie Moshammer (2018), Sebastian Stumpf (2008) and Tobias Zielony (2007) as well as critics Andreas Prinzing (2018), Katja Müller-Helle (2012), Steffen Siegel (2009) and Florian Ebner (2006).

C/O Berlin Talent Award 2019

C/O Berlin is delighted to award this year‘s C/O Berlin Talent Award to French artist Sylvain Couzinet-Jacques and to present his work the exhibition Sylvain Couzinet-Jacques . Sub Rosa from 07 December 2019 to 29 February 2020 at C/O Berlin in the Amerika Haus at Hardenbergstrasse 22–24, 10623 Berlin. The four artists Axel Braun (Germany), Jan Hoek (Netherlands), Camille Lévêque (France), and Luo Yang (China) are nominated for the Shortlist 2019.

Shortlist

Axel Braun (b. 1983, Düsseldorf, Germany) studied at Folkwang University of Arts in Essen, and ne art at École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris. His work has featured in several solo and group exhibitions at various institutions, among them Hartware MedienKunstVerein at Dortmunder U, Kunstmuseum Bochum, Krakow Photomonth 2018, Kunsthaus NRW Kornelimünster and Vera and Donald Blinken Open Society Archives in Budapest. He was Artist-in-Residence at Gyeonggi Creation Center (ROK), Goethe-Institut Bukarest and Institute for Advanced Studies der Central European University. Braun has received numerous prizes and scholarships from institutions including the German Academic Scholarship Foundation, the DAAD, the award for artists from the state of North Rhine-Westphalia, as well as awards from the Central European University’s Institute for Advanced Studies and the Kunststiftung NRW, as well as the Stiftung Kunstfond’s work grant.

Jan Hoek (b. 1984, Utrecht, Netherlands) is a photographer. He studied image and speech at the Gerrit Rietveld Academy in Amsterdam, graduating in 2012. In his work, Hoek often focuses on minority groups in African society, such as homeless people, drug addicts, and people who advertise on online marketplaces to do odd jobs or to work as amateur models. Critical yet humorous, his photographs thematize aspects of colonial history, as well as contemporary discourses on gender, consumption, and capitalism. They have been exhibited worldwide in Antwerp, Istanbul, St. Petersburg, Jakarta, Shenzhen, Lagos, Miami, London, and New York. Hoek has also held solo exhibitions in Foam Fotografiemuseum Amsterdam’s Foam 3h project space, Felix & Foam, and He Xianging Art Museum in Shenzhen. His photographs have since been published in Foam Magazine, Vice, Mister Motley, GUP, New York Times and King Kong Magazine.

Camille Lévêque (b. 1985 in Paris, France) is a visual artist, photographer, graphic designer, and publisher. Lévêque’s work spans the genres of photography, video, collage, and installation. Prior to focusing on her artistic career, she worked as a reporter for the UNHCR in Armenia and as an editorial assistant for Magnum Photos in Paris. Lévêque has been nominated for and won various awards, among them the Prix Maison Blanche, Voies Off Arles, Cosmos PDF Award, the PHmuseum Photography Grant, and the Lucie Scholarship. Her works have been exhibited at establis- hed institutions such as MACRO, Aperture Foundation, Unseen Festival, and Le Centquatre, and have also been published in Le Monde, Libération, Foam Magazine, Dazed, and Internazionale. Lévêque founded and is active in the collective Live Wild, and also co-founded the publishing house Orpheus Standing Alone. She lives and works in Paris.

Luo Yang (b. 1984, Shenyang, China) is an artist and photographer. She studied graphic design at the LuXun Academy of Fine Arts in China, graduating in 2006, and is considered one of the most important artists of her generation thanks to her documentary photography. In 2013, her work was shown at the exhibition FUCK OFF 2 at Groniger Museum, curated by Ai Weiwei. Luo’s works have also been exhibited in solo and group exhibitions at numerous other museums, project spaces, festivals, and biennials spanning Mumbai to Berlin. The artist lives and works in Beijing and Shanghai.

Sie sind hier

C/O Berlin Talent Award

Die Förderung und Begleitung junger Talente auf ihrem künstlerischen Weg ist integraler Bestandteil der Aktivitäten und des Selbstverständnisses der C/O Berlin Foundation. Als Ausstellungshaus für Fotografie und visuelle Medien bringt C/O Berlin Menschen zusammen und bildet so eine Plattform für den Austausch, Diskurs und das Netzwerk für junge internationale Gegenwartsfotografie.

Als einziger Förderpreis in Europa zeichnet der C/O Berlin Talent Award jährlich ein Tandem aus jung*en*er Fotograf*in und Kunstkritiker*in bis 35 Jahre aus. Der C/O Berlin Talent Award ist mit 10.000 EUR (7.000 EUR für die Kategorie Fotografie und 3.000 EUR für die Kategorie Kunstkritik) dotiert. Neben einem Preisgeld erhält der/die Gewinner*in eine umfangreiche Einzelausstellung bei C/O Berlin sowie eine individuell gestaltete Publikation, die mit Texten des/der ausgezeichneten Kritiker*in bei Spector Books, Leipzig veröffentlicht wird. Der Wettbewerb ist nicht öffentlich und ausschließlich über die Nominierung durch ein Komitee von hochrangigen Expert*innen zugänglich. Aus diesen Nominierungen bestimmt die preisgebende Jury fünf Kandidat*innen für eine Vorauswahl, aus der ein*e Preisträger*in ermittelt wird. Die Shortlist wird in der C/O Berlin Zeitung vorgestellt sowie im Rahmen der Kooperation von C/O Berlin mit dem Magazin Der Greif online präsentiert. arte begleitet den C/O Berlin Talent Award und die Ausstellung des/der Preisträger*in als Medienpartner.

Seit 2006 fördert die C/O Berlin Foundation mit ihrem Nachwuchsprogramm angehende Fotograf*innen und Kunstkritiker*innen. Mehr als 80 junge Talente wurden seither mit Ausstellungen und Publikationen unterstützt und einem breiten Publikum vorgestellt, darunter die Fotograf*innen Stefanie Moshammer (2018), Sebastian Stumpf (2008) und Tobias Zielony (2007) sowie die Kritiker*innen Andreas Prinzing (2018), Katja Müller-Helle (2012), Steffen Siegel (2009) und Florian Ebner (2006).

C/O Berlin Talent Award 2019

C/O Berlin freut sich den diesjährigen C/O Berlin Talent Award an den französischen Künstler Sylvain Couzinet-Jacques zu vergeben und sein Werk mit der Einzelausstellung Sylvain Couzinet-Jacques . Sub Rosa vom 07. Dezember 2019 bis 29. Februar 2020 bei C/O Berlin im Amerika Haus in der Hardenbergstraße 22–24, 10623 Berlin zu präsentieren.

Als einziger Förderpreis in Europa zeichnet der C/O Berlin Talent Award einmal jährlich ein Tandem aus jungen Fotograf*innen und Kunstkritiker*innen aus. Der diesjährige Preis 2019 wird an den französischen Künstler Sylvain Couzinet-Jacques verliehen, der bereits im letzten Jahr nominiert und Teil der Shortlist des C/O Berlin Talent Award 2018 war. Couzinet-Jacques’ herausragende künstlerische Handschrift und kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung zeigt sich erneut in seiner jüngsten Arbeit Sub Rosa (2018), welche die nominierende Jury durch ihre zeitgenössische Sichtweise, dokumentarische Bildsprache und intelligente Verschränkung von Fotografie, Video- und Soundinstallation überzeugt hat. Die Arbeit Sub Rosa wird erstmalig im Rahmen einer Einzelausstellung bei C/O Berlin präsentiert und durch eine individuell gestaltete Publikation begleitet. Die darin enthaltenen kunstkritischen Texte hat die parallel ausgezeichnete Kritikerin Mira Anneli Naß verfasst.

Die Fachjury, bestehend aus Ann-Christin Bertrand (Kuratorin, C/O Berlin Foundation), Milena Carstens (Leitung Bildredaktion, ZEITmagazin), Joachim Naudts (Kurator, Fotomuseum Antwerpen), Stefanie Moshammer (Gewinnerin des C/O Berlin Talent Award 2018) und Thomas Seelig (Kurator, Fotografische Sammlung Museum Folkwang, Essen), hat für die diesjährige Shortlist die vier Künstler*innen Axel Braun (DE), Jan Hoek (NL), Camille Lévêque (FR) und Luo Yang (CHN) ausgewählt. C/O Berlin freut sich, die Arbeiten dieser Künstler*innen in der kommenden Herbstausgabe der C/O Berlin Newspaper vorzustellen und in Kooperation mit Der Greif online zu präsentieren.

Shortlist

Axel Braun (*1983, Düsseldorf, Deutschland) studierte an der Folkwang Universität der Künste in Essen und an der École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris. Seine Arbeit wurde in verschiedenen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen gezeigt, darunter im Hartware MedienKunstVerein im Dortmunder U, Kunstmuseum Bochum, Krakow Photomonth 2018, Kunsthaus NRW Kornelimünster und Vera and Donald Blinken Open Society Archives in Budapest. Er war Artist-in-Residence am Gyeonggi Creation Center (ROK), Goethe-Institut Bukarest und Institute for Advanced Studies der Central European University. Braun erhielt zahlreiche Preise und Stipendien, u.a. von der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes, der Kunststiftung NRW und den Förderpreis für Künstlerinnen und Künstler des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen und wird aktuell von der Stiftung Kunstfonds gefördert.

Jan Hoek (*1984 in Utrecht, Niederlande) ist Fotograf und absolvierte sein Studium der Bild- und Sprachgestaltung an der Gerrit Rietveld Academy in Amsterdam (2012). Hoek beschäftigt sich in seiner Arbeit oftmals mit Minoritäten der afrikanischen Gesellschaft wie Obdachlose, Drogenabhängige oder Menschen, die sich für kleine Dienstleistungen oder als Amateurmodels auf Online-Marktplätzen anbieten. Mit kritisch und humorvoller Geste thematisiert er Aspekte der Kolonialgeschichte, des aktuellen Diskurses über Gender, Konsum und Kapitalismus. Seine Werke wurden weltweit in Antwerpen, Istanbul, St. Petersburg, Jakarta, Shenzhen, Lagos, Miami, London und New York präsentiert, darunter als Einzelausstellungen im Projektraum Foam 3h des Fotografiemuseum Amsterdam, im Felix&Foam sowie im He Xianging Art Museum in Shenzhen. Seine Fotografien wurden seither veröffentlicht im Foam Magazine, Vice, Mister Motley, GUP, New York Times und King Kong Magazine.

Camille Lévêque (*1985 in Paris, Frankreich) ist visuelle Künstlerin, Fotografin, Grafikdesignerin und Verlegerin. Lévêques Arbeiten beschäftigen sich mit den Gattungen Fotografie, Video, Collage und Installation. Sie war als Reporterin der  UNHCR in Armenien sowie als Redaktionsassistentin für Magnum Photos in Paris tätig bevor sie ihre künstlerische Karriere fokussierte. Lévêque wurde für diverse Preise nominiert und ausgezeichnet, darunter Prix Maison Blanche, Voies Off Arles, Cosmos Arles, PHmuseum Grant und Lucie Foundation. Ihre Werke wurden in bekannten Institutionen präsentiert wie im MACRO, in der Aperture Foundation, auf dem Festival UNSEEN oder Le 104 und in den Zeitungen Le Monde, Libération sowie im Foam Magazine, Dazed, Confused und Internazionale veröffentlicht. Lévêque ist Gründerin und Teil des Kollektivs Live Wild und Mitbegründerin des Verlags Orpheus Standing Alone. Sie arbeitet und lebt in Paris.

Luo Yang (*1984 in Shenyang, China) ist Künstlerin und Fotografin. Sie studierte Grafikdesign und absolvierte an der LuXun Academy of Fine Arts in China (2006) und zählt mit ihrer dokumentarischen Fotografie zu den bedeutendsten Künstler*innen ihrer Generation. 2013 waren ihre Werke in der von Ai Weiwei kuratierten Ausstellung FUCK OFF 2 im Groninger Museum zu sehen. Luos Arbeiten wurden weltweit in zahlreichen Museen, Projekträumen und auf Festivals sowie Biennalen in Einzel- und Gruppenausstellung von Mumbai bis Berlin präsentiert. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Peking und Shanghai.