You are here

Love, Ren Hang


Public Guided Tours . Sat + Sun and holidays . 2:00 p.m. + 4:00 p.m. (German) . 6:00 p.m. (English)

Jet black hair, porcelain skin, bright red lips and fingernails; figures gazing intensely into the camera; young men and women posing acrobatically with bizarre props; animals and plants in the glaring light of the camera’s flash, situated in urban landscapes, private spaces, or in nature, among rice fields, lotus ponds, and cacti—Chinese artist Ren Hang’s photographs are painfully provocative, but also inward looking and dreamily surreal. His gender-queer compositions are explicitly erotic but never pornographic. Hang depicts the human body as an abstract form, often in idiosyncratic arrangements and perspectives, referencing and simultaneously overwriting well-known motifs and traditions from Western art. He combines iconic images of William Shakespeare’s dying Ophelia in a river surrounded by flowers; of Leda, daughter of a Greek king, and the Swan; and of female nudes seen from behind using a distinctive visual vocabulary that draws on abstraction, Surrealism, Dada, and both historic and contemporary photography. The artistic understanding revealed in his photographs is influenced by East Asian philosophy and, in contrast to Western art, does not endeavor to be original. His work instead continues a school tradition and strives for timelessness; for Hang, as for many Chinese artists, questions of authorship and of original versus copy only arise in confrontation with a Western understanding of art. The juxtaposition of these views gives rise to a new discourse on the forms and structures of collective and pictorial memory.

Ren Hang’s analog photographs use a playful, humorous visual language to relate the feelings, desires, fears, and loneliness of a young generation in China. His works stand as symbols of the youth’s rebellion against the conventions of a restrictive communist regime in which nudity and sexual freedom are subject to government censure and control even up to the present day. Most of the people portrayed are the artist’s friends, but they remain unnamed and anonymous, and the images bear neither title nor place nor date. Although carefully staged, they are infused with an element of fleetingness and evanescence that is often the result of the artist’s quick way of working. Ren Hang’s photographs are a rare ode to human beings, their bodies, sexuality, beauty, and vulnerability.

C/O Berlin will be showing the exhibition Love, Ren Hang for the first time in Germany. It is a comprehensive retrospective including over 150 recent works by Ren Hang, one of the most important contemporary photographers in China.

Ren Hang (b. 1987 in Changchun, China, d. 2017 in Beijing) was a photographer and poet. In 2010 he received the Third Annual Prize for Contemporary Art. His works have been shown in China and Europe at venues including Foam—Fotografiemuseum Amsterdam, MdbK in Leipzig, Ostlicht—Galerie für Fotografie in Vienna (2017), and the Maison Européenne de la Photographie in Paris (2019). He produced numerous photobooks and published his photographs on his website, Facebook, Instagram, and Flickr. His work has gained a growing posthumous following and immense popularity worldwide. Up to his death by suicide at the age of twenty-nine, Hang lived and worked in Beijing.

Sie sind hier

Love, Ren Hang


Eröffnung . 06.12.2019 . 19:00 Uhr

Öffentliche Führungen . 
Sa + So und Feiertage. 14:00 + 16:00 (Deutsch) . 18:00  (Englisch)
Public Guided Tours . Sat + Sun and holidays . 2:00 p.m. + 4:00 p.m. (German) . 6:00 p.m. (English)

Pechschwarze Haare, Porzellanhaut, knallrote Lippen und Fingernägel, tiefe Blicke direkt in die Kamera, akrobatische Posen von jungen Männern und Frauen mit skurrilen Requisiten, Tiere und Pflanzen im grellen Blitzlicht, eingebettet in urbanen Landschaften, privaten Räumen oder in der Natur zwischen Reisfeldern, Lotusteichen und Kakteen – die Bilder des chinesischen Künstlers Ren Hang sind schmerzvoll provokant, aber auch introvertiert und träumerisch surreal. Seine genderqueeren Kompositionen sind explizit erotisch, jedoch nie pornografisch. In oft extrem eigenwilligen Arrangements und Perspektiven wird der menschliche Körper zur abstrakten Form gestaltet, wobei immer wieder bekannte Motive und Traditionen aus der westlichen Kunst- und Fotogeschichte zitiert und gleichzeitig überschrieben werden. Bildikonen von William Sheakespeares sterbender Ophelia im Blumenteich, Darstellungen der griechischen Königstochter Leda mit dem Schwan oder Rückenakte weiblicher Figuren kombiniert Ren Hang mit einem unverkennbaren Bildvokabular aus Abstraktion, Surrealismus, Dada sowie historischer und zeitgenössischer Fotografie. Gleichwohl ist ein von der ostasiatischen Philosophie geprägtes künstlerisches Verständnis erkennbar, das im Gegensatz zur Kunst des Abendlandes nicht um Originalität bemüht ist. Vielmehr führt es eine Schultradition fort und strebt nach Zeitlosigkeit; die Fragen nach Autorenschaft, Original und Kopie stellen sich für viele Künstler*innen in China erst in Gegenüberstellung zum westlichen Kunstbegriff. Daraus speist sich ein neuer Diskurs um Formen und Strukturen eines kollektiven und globalen Bildgedächtnisses..

Ren Hangs analoge Fotografien erzählen dabei in einer humorvoll-verspielten Bildsprache von Gefühlen, Sehnsüchten, Ängsten und von der Einsamkeit einer jungen Generation in China. Sie stehen symbolhaft für deren Rebellion gegen die Konventionen eines restriktiven kommunistischen Regimes, in dem Nacktheit sowie sexuelle Freiheit bis heute unter staatlicher Zensur und Kontrolle stehen. Die dargestellten Menschen sind meist Freund*innen des Künstlers, bleiben aber unbenannt und stets anonym. Die Bilder tragen weder Titel noch Ort oder Datum. Sie sind sorgfältig inszeniert, gleichwohl ist ihnen auch das Momenthafte inhärent, das oft der schnellen Arbeitsweise des Künstlers entspringt. Ren Hangs Fotografien sind eine seltene Ode an den Menschen, seinen Körper, seine Sexualität, Schönheit und Verletzlichkeit.

C/O Berlin zeigt mit der Ausstellung Love, Ren Hang erstmals in Deutschland eine umfassende Retrospektive mit über 150 Arbeiten aus dem jungen Werk von Ren Hang, der zu den wichtigsten zeitgenössischen Fotografen in China zählt.

Ren Hang (geboren 1987 in Chang Chung, gestorben 2017 in Peking, China) war Fotograf und Lyriker. 2010 erhielt er den Third Annual Prize for Contemporary Art. Seine Arbeiten wurden bisher in China und Europa ausgestellt, u.a. im Foam – Fotografiemuseum Amsterdam, im MdbK in Leipzig, in der Ostlicht – Galerie für Fotografie in Wien (2017) und im Maison Européenne de la Photographie in Paris (2019). Er publizierte zahlreiche Fotobücher und veröffentlichte seine Arbeiten auf seiner Website, über Facebook, Instagram sowie Flickr. Sein Werk findet posthum eine stetig wachsende Anhängerschaft und erfährt weltweit eine immense Popularität. Hang lebte und arbeitete bis zu seinem Freitod im Alter von 29 Jahren in Peking.