You are here

Watched! Surveillance, Art & Photography

Surveillance & Photography

“First of all, I know it’s all people like you. And that’s what’s so scary. Individually you don’t know what you’re doing collectively.” Dave Eggers, The Circle

Total surveillance? Video cameras in banks, department stores, and public spaces; algorithm-based advertising and cookies on the Internet; government data collection and private cloud storage—today, we take permanent observation and data sharing for granted as a normal part of our everyday lives. We are constantly using services like Google Maps, watching live streams of films, trying out exciting new health apps and exploring unimagined possibilities for self-tracking. We follow friends and complete strangers on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram, and we ourselves are constantly being tracked. We profit from the new digital technologies and services and are willing to open up more and more of our private lives to public view. Surveillance and big data have long since become a major social issue.

Contemporary surveillance is not limited to visual monitoring. Yet to understand how surveillance works, it is necessary to address the photographic aspect. Today, our entire existence is being photographed and visualized to an unprecedented degree, raising new questions about voluntary and involuntary visibility as well as photohistorical issues of observing and being observed. The exhibition Watched! Surveillance Art & Photography examines the complexities of modern surveillance with a focus on photography and visual media. The works in the exhibition deal with themes ranging from technologies used by government and regulatory agencies to everyday surveillance practices that have become integral parts of our lives, especially in social media. The question is: How can contemporary art and media theory contribute to a better understanding of our modern surveillance society?

The Berlin exhibition presents works by around 20 international artists who offer different commentaries on and reactions to precisely this question. It combines emerging artistic practices, represented by young artists such as Julian Röder, Viktoria Binschtok, and Esther Hovers, with the work of internationally recognized artists like Hito Steyerl, Trevor Paglen, Jill Magid, Hasan Elahi, Paolo Cirio, Adam Broomberg & Oliver Chanarin, James Bridle, and Ai Wei Wei to present as wide as possible a spectrum of artistic approaches. The artists in the exhibition appropriate technologies like video surveillance, facial recognition, Google Street View, digital lifelogging, and virtual animation. They probe the need for safety and security, which is frequently used as an argument for increasing surveillance while often ignoring the problems of discriminatory controls and criminalization that follow. The viewer is invited to think about how we can live in a society with diverse surveillance networks without contributing to the inequalities that surveillance produces.

> take part and save the entrance fee
> accompanying program

The exhibition has been organized in cooperation with the Hasselblad Foundation, Valand Academy, Kunsthal Aarhus, and C/O Berlin. It was curated by Louise Wolthers and Dragana Vujanovic (Hasselblad Foundation), Niclas Östlind (Valand Academy), and Ann-Christin Bertrand (C/O Berlin). It is part of a research project launched by the Hasselblad Foundation on surveillance, art, and photography in Europe since the turn of the millennium. The accompanying book, published by Walther König bookstore-publisher, contains artworks by 40 artists as well as essays by numerous scholars and was selected by Time Magazine in November as one of the “Best Photobooks of 2016”.! Watched! Surveillance, Art & Photography, 2016, 296 pages, 38 euros.

The exhibition in Berlin has been made possible through a generous grant from Hauptstadtkulturfond (Berlin Capital Cultural Fund).

As part of their inter-institutional cooperation, C/O Berlin and the Museum for Photography will be presenting three thematically related exhibitions on the topic of surveillance and photography starting in February 2017 with artists representing diverse current and historic artistic positions.

Since June 2016, C/O Berlin has been hosting discussions on the topic of surveillance with experts from a variety of disciplines. The next event in this series will take place on February 18, 2017; the series will end with the exhibition Watched! Surveillance Art & Photography in April 2017.

> accompanying program

Sie sind hier

Watched! Surveillance, Art & Photography

Überwachung & Fotografie

First of all, I know it’s all people like you. And that’s what’s so scary. Individually you don’t know what you’re doing collectively.” Dave Eggers, The Circle

Überwachung total? Videokameras in Banken, Kaufhäusern und an öffentlichen Plätzen, von Algorithmen gesteuerte Werbung und persistente Cookies im Internet, staatliche Vorratsdatenspeicherung und private Cloud-Speicherdienste – im Alltag sind permanente Beobachtung und Data Sharing heute selbstverständlich. Tagtäglich nutzen wir Dienste wie Google Maps, schauen uns Live-Streams an und begeistern uns über Health-Apps und ungeahnte Möglichkeiten der Selbstkontrolle. Wir verfolgen unsere Freunde und wildfremde Menschen auf Facebook, Twitter und Instagram und werden selbst kontinuierlich getrackt. Wir profitieren von den neuen digitalen Techniken und Angeboten und sind dafür bereit, unser Privatleben immer öffentlicher werden zu lassen. Überwachung und Big Data sind längst zu einem großen gesellschaftlichen Thema geworden.

Überwachung beschränkt sich heute nicht auf visuelle Kontrolle, dennoch muss das fotografische Moment thematisiert werden, um zu verstehen, wie Überwachung funktioniert. Unsere gesamte Existenz wird aktuell in nie dagewesenem Maße fotografiert und visualisiert. Das wirft neue Fragen nach freiwilliger und unfreiwilliger Sichtbarkeit auf, aber auch fotohistorische Fragen nach dem Beobachten und beobachtet werden. In der Ausstellung Watched! Surveillance, Art & Photography werden die komplexen Zusammenhänge moderner Überwachung daher mit einem besonderen Augenmerk auf die Fotografie und visuelle Medien beleuchtet. Von staatlich und behördlich genutzten Technologien bis hin zu alltäglichen Überwachungspraktiken, die vor allem in den sozialen Medien zu einem festen Bestandteil unseres Lebens geworden sind. Die Frage ist: Wie können zeitgenössische Kunst und Medientheorie zu einem besseren Verständnis unserer modernen Überwachungsgesellschaft beitragen?

Die Arbeiten von rund 20 internationalen Künstlern in der Berliner Ausstellung zeigen unterschiedliche Kommentare und Reaktionen auf eben diese Frage. Dabei werden sowohl junge aufstrebende künstlerische Positionen wie zum Beispiel von Julian Röder, Viktoria Binschtok oder Esther Hovers mit international anerkannten Positionen von Hito Steyerl, Trevor Paglen, Jill Magid, Hasan Elahi, Paolo Cirio, Adam Broomberg & Oliver Chanarin, James Bridle oder Ai Wei Wei kombiniert, um ein möglichst großes Spektrum der Herangehensweisen aufzuzeigen. Die Künstler bedienen sich Techniken wie Videoüberwachung, Gesichtserkennung, Google Street View, digitaler Selbstvermessung und virtueller Animation. Sie hinterfragen das Bedürfnis nach Sicherheit, das als Argument für eine zunehmende Überwachung dient und dabei oftmals Aspekte wie diskriminierende Kontrolle oder Kriminalisierung außen vor lässt. Der Betrachter ist eingeladen, darüber nachzudenken, wie wir in einer Gesellschaft mit vielfältigen Überwachungsnetzwerken leben können, ohne zu jenen Ungleichheiten beizutragen, die Überwachung schafft.

> Mitmachen und Eintritt sparen
> Zum Begleitprogramm

Die Ausstellung ist ein Kooperationsprojekt der Hasselblad Foundation, der Valand Academy, der Kunsthal Aarhus und C/O Berlin. Sie wurde kuratiert von Louise Wolthers und Dragana Vujanovic (Hasselblad Foundation), Niclas Östlind (Valand Academy) sowie Ann-Christin Bertrand (C/O Berlin). Sie ist Teil eines von der Hasselblad Foundation initiierten Projekts zu Überwachung, Kunst und Fotografie in Europa nach der Jahrhundertwende. Die begleitende Publikation, erschienen in der Verlagsbuchhandlung Walther König, enthält Kunstwerke von vierzig Künstlern, daneben Aufsätze von zahlreichen Wissenschaftlern und wurde erst im November vom Time Magazine in der Kategorie „Best Photobooks of 2016“ ausgezeichnet. Watched! Surveillance, Art & Photography, 2016, 296 Seiten, 38 Euro.

Die Realisierung der Ausstellung in Berlin wird aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds ermöglicht.

Im Rahmen ihrer häuserübergreifenden Kooperation präsentieren C/O Berlin und das Museum für Fotografie ab Februar 2017 drei inhaltlich aufeinander abgestimmte Ausstellungen zum Thema Überwachung und Fotografie mit aktuellen und historischen künstlerischen Positionen.

Bereits seit Juni 2016 diskutiert C/O Berlin mit Experten aus verschiedenen Fachdisziplinen das Thema Überwachung. Der nächste Termin findet am 18. Februar 2017 statt; die Veranstaltungsreihe endet mit der Ausstellung Watched! Surveillance Art & Photography im April 2017.

> Zum Begleitprogramm