You are here

Stephen Shore

Retrospective

“I wanted to make pictures that felt natural, that felt like seeing, that didn’t feel like taking something in the world and making a piece of art out of it.” Stephen Shore

What does it mean to explore the essence of things through photography? Is it possible to show what holds the world together internally—not just its surface appearance? The immaterial is impossible to document directly. Cultural developments and contexts are most clearly manifest in everyday situations, banal objects, unremarkable landscapes, and faceless places. Stephen Shore’s photographic series record, preserve, and reflect on those traces of human life that are normally passed over, considered unworthy of representation. A chronicler of the unspectacular, Shore uncovers the structures  and subtle inner workings of our Western culture. In his work, the act of photographing becomes an attempt to examine the self and the external world, to arrive at deeper understanding through observation. At the same time, his work is an attempt to understand and find new ways of thinking about the medium of photography. Stephen Shore’s conceptual approach and his ongoing experimentation—spanning a range of genres, themes, and techniques—establish him as a pioneer and one of the most important visionaries in photography today; an artist who is continually reinventing himself.

Due to the diversity of his different series and projects during his career, at first glance Stephen Shore’s oeuvre seems to fit easily into established documentary and narrative photographic traditions. Yet for Shore, the “decisive moment” is irrelevant, and chance plays only a minor role. He uses these categories and visual languages instead as stylistic devices to give visual expression to his conceptual ideas about reality. Bound only by his own constantly evolving rules, he frees himself from widely accepted conventions of photographic medium and continually explores and redefines its limitations and possibilities. For this reason, Stephen Shore is an important and ever-present point of reference for artists working today, and one of only a very few bridging figures who defy easy categorization solely on the basis of either visual results or working methods.  His system of references reveals the strength of his body of work as a mixture of documentary and artistic reflection.

The exhibition includes over 300 pictures–some of them never published. It was organized by Fundación MAPFRE in collaboration with C/O BERLIN, and was curated by Marta Dahó and Felix Hoffmann. C/O Berlin will be the only place of Stephen Shore’s retrospective in Germany. A catalog accompanying the exhibition has been published by Kehrer Verlag. This first retrospective of Stephen Shore’s work unfolds chronologically, shedding light on the three most significant aspects of Stephen Shore’s oeuvre as well as his unique contribution to the culture of photography. The exhibition also presents some of the most important interpretations that his work has inspired over the last four decades.

Reflections on photographic languages
Between 1965 and 1967, Stephen Shore was a regular at Andy Warhol’s Factory, documenting the people and life he encountered there. It was there that he developed his liberated artistic perspective on the medium of photography as an instrument of perception. In the tradition of Walker Evans and Robert Frank, he went on to explore the settings of everyday and consumer worlds in the United States. The resulting works are not visual studies of some concrete status quo but instead capture the essence of individual places as a kind of ambivalent background—thus Shore’s decisive rejection of familiar landmarks and typologies. In formal terms, he experimented with large-format cameras and a snapshot aesthetic as well as with the use of found visual material.

Color as an autonomous compositional element 
Even in the art photography of the 1970s, color photography was considered commercial and vulgar, Stephen Shore was one of the first photographers to use color as a visual element in a different way as it was at this time. His contribution was akin to a revolution. And although that appraisal now appears anachronistic, it dominates the reception of Stephen Shore’s work up to the present day.

New digital opportunities
In pace with the radical transformation of photography through digitalization, Stephen Shore has sought new opportunities for the distribution and presentation of photographic work, continually exploring the limits of the medium and the immediate reactions of his viewers or followers. Just as in his conceptual works, he works within the (self-imposed) limits of predefined structures when using digital books or Instagram, paired with the idea of imitating photographic essays.

Stephen Shore, born in New York City in 1947, developed an interest in photography at a young age. In 1961, three of Stephen Shore’s photographs were purchased by Edward Steichen, then curator of the Museum of Modern Art in New York. At the age of 18, Shore moved into Andy Warhol’s Factory, where he took photographs, assisted in film productions, and worked as a lighting technician. In 1971, he became the first living photographer to have a solo show at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York since Alfred Stieglitz, 40 years earlier. He received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) in 1974 and 1979. Stephen Shore’s photos and photographic series have been published in numerous books and shown in exhibitions worldwide at institutions including the Tate Modern in London, the Whitney Museum in New York, the Albertina in Vienna, the Jeu de Paume in Paris, and Fotomusuem Winterthur in Switzerland. His works are part of important photographic collections including those of the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, the Museum of Modern Art, New York, the Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich, and the Deutsche Börse, Frankfurt. Since 1982 he has been the director of the Photography Program at Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, NY, where he is the Susan Weber Professor in the Arts. Stephen Shore lives and works in New York City.

The exhibition was organized by Fundación MAPFRE in collaboration with C/O Berlin.

Sie sind hier

Stephen Shore

Retrospektive

„Mich interessierte eine Art von Fotografie, die vergleichbar ist mit visuellen Notizen. Ich wollte etwas festhalten können, ohne gleich ein komplexes Foto machen zu müssen.“ Stephen Shore

Das Wesen der Dinge – wie kann dieses fotografisch ausgelotet werden? Wie zeigt man das, was die Welt im Inneren zusammenhält und nicht nur dessen Abbild oder Schein? Immaterielles ist nicht unmittelbar dokumentierbar. Kulturelle Strömungen und Zusammenhänge manifestieren sich insbesondere in alltäglichen Situationen, banalen Gegenständen, unscheinbaren Landschaften oder gesichtslosen Orten. In seinen fotografischen Serien registriert, konserviert und reflektiert Stephen Shore diese Spuren menschlichen Lebens, die normalerweise übersehen und nicht als bildwürdig betrachtet werden. Als Chronist des Unspektakulären zeigt er die Strukturen und sensiblen Zusammenhänge unserer westlichen Kultur auf. So wird der Akt des Fotografierens zum Versuch, sich seiner Selbst und seiner Umwelt zu vergewissern und durch Beobachtung tiefere Erkenntnis zu erlangen. Gleichzeitig ist es das Bestreben, das Medium Fotografie zu verstehen und neu zu denken. Mit seinem konzeptuellen Ansatz und fortwährenden Experiment über einzelne Genres, Themen und Techniken hinaus ist Stephen Shore ein Pionier und einer der wichtigsten Vordenker in der Fotografie, der sich als Künstler immer wieder neu erfindet.

Aufgrund der Vielfältigkeit seiner Serien und Projekte lässt sich Stephen Shores Œuvre auf den ersten Blick leicht in die dokumentarisch-erzählerische Fotografietradition einordnen. Jedoch ist der „Moment décisif“ für ihn irrelevant, Zufall spielt nur eine geringe Rolle. Vielmehr bedient sich Stephen Shore stilistisch dieser Kategorien und Bildsprachen nur, um seine konzeptuellen Ideen von Wirklichkeit bildlich umzusetzen. Ausschließlich seinen eigenen, immer wieder neu auferlegten Restriktionen unterworfen, befreit er sich von allgemeinen Konventionen des Mediums Fotografie und lotet dessen Grenzen und Möglichkeiten permanent neu aus. So ist Stephen Shore bis heute ein stetiger Referenzpunkt und eine der wenigen Brückenfiguren, die sich allein durch visuelle Resultate und Arbeitsweisen nicht eindeutig und schnell festlegen lässt. Sein Bezugssystem offenbart vielmehr seine Stärke aus der Mischung von Dokumentarismus und künstlerischer Reflexion.

Die Ausstellung umfasst über 300 zum Teil nie veröffentlichte Bilder und wurde von Marta Dahó und Felix Hoffmann kuratiert. Sie wurde von der Fundación MAPFRE in Kooperation mit C/O Berlin zusammengestellt. C/O Berlin zeigt sie als einzige Station in Deutschland. Im Kehrer Verlag ist ein Katalog erschienen. Diese erste Retrospektive beleuchtet choronologisch die drei aussagekräftigsten Aspekte in Stephen Shores Œuvre aus vier Jahrzehnten sowie seinen einzigartigen Beitrag zur Fotografiegeschichte und die wichtigsten historiografischen Interpretationen.

Überlegungen zu fotografischen Sprachen
Stephen Shore frequentiert und dokumentiert zwischen 1965 bis 1967 die Factory von Andy Warhol. Hier eröffnet sich ihm eine befreite künstlerische Perspektive auf das Medium Fotografie hin zu einem Instrument der Wahrnehmung. In Tradition von Walker Evans und Robert Frank verortet er anschließend die US-amerikanischen Konsum- und Alltagswelten, jedoch nicht als visuelle Studie eines konkreten Status quo, sondern um das Wesen der jeweiligen Orte wie eine ambivalente Folie zu erfassen – daher auch seine klare Abwendung von bekannten Landmarks und Typologien. Formal experimentiert er mit Großbildkameras und Snapshot-Ästhetik sowie vorgefundenem Bildmaterial.

Farbigkeit als autonomes Gestaltungselement
Bis in die 1970er Jahre galt Farbfotografie als werblich und vulgär – zumindest in der künstlerischen Fotografie. Als einer der ersten verwendet Stephen Shore Farbe als fotokünstlerisches Bildelement in einer anderen Art und Weise wie zu der Zeit üblich. Sein Impuls kommt damals einer Revolution gleich. Und obwohl diese Bewertung mittlerweile anachronistisch erscheint, beherrscht sie die Rezeption der Arbeiten Stephen Shores bis heute.

Neue, digitale Möglichkeiten
Mit der tiefgreifenden Transformation der Fotografie durch die Digitalisierung sucht Stephen Shore nach neuen Distributions- und Präsentationsmöglichkeiten – ein permanentes Ausloten des Mediums und der unmittelbaren Reaktion des Betrachters beziehungsweise Followers. Wie bei seinen frühen konzeptuellen Arbeiten arbeitet er bei der Produktion von digitalen Büchern oder dem Einsatz von Instagram mit (selbst) auferlegten Grenzen innerhalb eines festen Rasters dieser Plattform und mit der Idee der Imitation von fotografischen Essays.

Stephen Shore, geboren 1947 in New York City, beschäftigt sich seit seiner Kindheit mit Fotografie. 1961 erwirbt Edward Steichen, Kurator des Museums of Modern Art in New York, drei Fotografien von Stephen Shore. Mit 18 Jahren zieht er in die Factory von Andy Warhol ein, macht Fotos, assistiert bei Filmproduktionen und arbeitet als Beleuchter. 1971 stellt er als erster lebender Fotograf im New Yorker Metropolitan Museum of Art aus – seit Alfred Stieglitz 40 Jahre zuvor. 1974 und 1979 erhält er Stipendien der National Endowment for the Arts (NEA). Seine Fotografien hat Stephen Shore in zahlreichen Büchern publiziert und in Ausstellungen weltweit präsentiert – unter anderem in der Tate Modern, London, im Whitney Museum, New York, der Albertina, Wien, dem Jeu de Paume, Paris, und dem Fotomusuem Winterthur. Seine Werke sind in Sammlungen wie dem San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, dem Museum of Modern Art, New York, der Pinakothek der Moderne, München, und der Deutschen Börse, Frankfurt, vertreten. Seit 1982 ist er Direktor des Fotografie-Programms am Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson in New York, wo er die Susan-Weber-Professor in der Kunst innehat. Stephen Shore lebt und arbeitet in New York City.

Die Ausstellung wurde organisiert von der Fundación MAPFRE in Zusammenarbeit mit C/O Berlin.