You are here

Sebastião Salgado

Genesis

Archaic volcanic landscapes, arctic ice masses, meandering river canyons, mountain chains enveloped in mist, primordial rainforests and endless sand dunes – Genesis is a visual homage to the blue planet. In opulent black-and-white photographs, the photographer Sebastião Salgado documents the stunning beauty and rich diversity of intact flora and fauna, as well as indigene peoples. His aesthetically impressive, large format photographic series is the result of an expedition lasting several years, with the goal of heightening people’s awareness for the preciousness of the last untouched corners of the earth. The Genesis project is Sebastião Salgado’s appeal to civilization to preserve part of the planet in all its original and fascinating diversity.

46 percent of the land mass on earth is as intact as on creation day, having scarcely changed throughout the history of the earth. Within the space of eight years, Sebastião Salgado has undertaken 32 journeys in these regions in small propeller-driven aircrafts, on foot, by boat, in a folding kayak and a captive balloon. He has travelled through climatically extreme zones with rough terrain, far away from any civilization. In terms of content, Genesis has been divided into five chapters: Planet South shows the Galapagos Islands with sea lions, cormorants and penguins, as well as wales in the Antarctic and the South Atlantic. In Sanctuaries, Sebastião Salgado travelled through isolated zones with a rich diversity of species, such as Madagascar, Sumatra and West-Papua, portraiting the inhabitants of the Mentawai Islands, as well as the Korowai tribe. In Africa he moved between big game, undulating dunes, lava and the Okavango River, as well as amidst the Dinka nomads in Sudan. Northern Spaces shows Sebastião Salgado’s fascination with herds of reindeer at the Arctic Circle, the Kamchatka Peninsula and also the lacerated mountain masses of Alaska and the people encrusted in ice, with their sledges, dogs and tents. Amazônia presents alligators and jaguars, the courses of the Amazon, Negro and Juruá Rivers, as well as the Zo’é People in the jungle of Brazil.

> Videos: More background information

For the first time in his œuvre, Sebastião Salgado has moved his main focus away from people, turning his attention to the so-called nature morte, as well as the animal and plant world. On a formal level, his photographs captivate the viewers with their delicate tinges of colour and shades of grey, together with sharp contrasts between light and dark areas. The strong appeal of the photographs is particularly due to the intentionally calm compositions made up of clear structures, lines and forms.

C/O Berlin is the first exhibition venue in Germany to present Sebastião Salgado’s work Genesis, with 245 photographs. The exhibition is curated by Lélia Wanick Salgado. A catalog has been published by the Taschen Verlag

Sebastião Salgado, born in 1944 in Brazil, numbers among the socially committed photographers working in the tradition of social documentary photography. After completing a PhD in Economy, he worked as an administrative officer for the International Coffee Organisation (ICO) in London and did not begin working with photography until later, learning the trade as an autodidact. Based in Paris, he has worked as a photo journalist since 1973. Sebastião Salgado uses black-and-white photography to document, in self-selected, long-term projects around the world. From 1986 to 1999, he dedicated himself primarily to the documentation of the end of the industrial age, as well as global migration, not just of refugees and displaced persons but also of immigrants in the mega cities of the developing countries. Sebastião Salgado, who was initially a member of the renowned agency Magnum, later left to market his photos through the agency, Amazonas Images, which he and Lélia Wanick Salgado created in 1994. Since the 1990‘s, together, they have committed themselves to an environmental project (InstitutoTerra), which is engaged in the reforesting of the Brazilian Atlantic coast as well as the ecological education of the farmers. The photographer has been honoured with numerous photo awards – including the Eugene Smith, the Hasselblad and the Oskar Barnack prizes. He lives and works in Paris.

> Buy your ticket online and avoid waiting time

Sie sind hier

Sebastião Salgado

Genesis

Archaische Vulkanlandschaften, arktische Eismassen, mäandernde Fluss- Canyons, nebelumhüllte Gebirgsketten, ursprüngliche Regenwälder und endlose Sanddünen – Genesis ist eine visuelle Hommage an den blauen Planeten. Der Fotograf Sebastião Salgado dokumentiert in opulenten Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografien die überwältigende Schönheit und die Artenvielfalt unberührter Flora und Fauna sowie indigener Völker. Sein ästhetisch beeindruckender, großformatiger Bilderzyklus ist das Ergebnis einer langjährigen Expedition mit dem Ziel, über das Medium Fotografie das Bewusstsein für die Kostbarkeit der letzten unberührten Winkel der Erde zu schärfen. Das Genesis-Projekt ist Sebastião Salgados Appell an die Zivilisation, einen Teil des Planeten in seiner Ursprünglichkeit und faszinierenden Diversität zu bewahren.

> Videos: Weitere Informationen und Hintergründe

46 Prozent der Landmasse auf der Erde sind immer noch so unberührt wie am Tag der Schöpfung und haben sich in der Erdgeschichte bisher kaum verändert. Innerhalb von acht Jahren hat Sebastião Salgado 32 Reisen in diese Gebiete unternommen – in kleinen Propellerflugzeugen, zu Fuß, mit dem Schiff, im Faltkanu und im Fesselballon. Er war unterwegs in klimatischen Extremen und unwegsamen Gebieten fernab jeglicher Zivilisation. Genesis ist inhaltlich in fünf Kapitel unterteilt: Planet South zeigt die Galapagosinseln mit Seelöwen, Kormoranen, Pinguinen sowie Wale in der Antarktis und im Südatlantik. In Sanctuaries bereist Sebastião Salgado isolierte und artenreiche Zonen wie Madagaskar, Sumatra und West-Papua und porträtiert die Bewohner der Mentawaiinseln sowie den Stamm der Korowai. In Africa bewegt er sich zwischen Großwild, Dünenwogen, Lava, dem Okavango-Fluss und inmitten des Nomadenvolks der Dinka im Sudan. An den Northern Spaces faszinieren Sebastião Salgado große Rentierherden am Polarkreis, die Kamtschatka-Halbinsel, die zerrissenen Bergmassive Alaskas und die Menschen, vom Eis überkrustet samt ihrer Schlitten, Hunde und Zelte. Amazônia präsentiert Alligatoren und Jaguare an den Flussläufen des Amazonas, Negro und Juruá sowie das Volk der Zo’é im Dschungel Brasiliens .
 
Erstmals in seinem Œuvre wendet Sebastião Salgado verstärkt seinen Fokus vom Menschen ab und richtet seinen Blick auf die sogenannte nature morte sowie die Tier- und Pflanzenwelt. Formal bestechen seine Fotografien durch feine Schattierungen und Grauabstufungen sowie scharfe Hell-Dunkel-Kontraste. Gerade aufgrund der bewussten, ruhigen Komposition aus klaren Strukturen, Linien und Formen üben seine Bilder eine starke Anziehungskraft aus.

C/O Berlin präsentiert als erster Ausstellungsort in Deutschland Sebastião Salgados Genesis mit 245 Fotografien. Die Ausstellung wurde von Lélia Wanick Salgado kuratiert. Im Taschen Verlag ist ein Katalog erschienen.

Sebastião Salgado, geboren 1944 in Brasilien, gehört zu den sozial engagierten Fotografen in der Tradition der sozialdokumentarischen Fotografie. Der promovierte Ökonom arbeitete als Verwaltungsangestellter für die International Coffee Organisation (ICO) in London und kam erst spät als Autodidakt zur Fotografie – seit 1973 ist er als Fotojournalist von Paris aus tätig. Salgado dokumentiert in selbst ausgewählten, weltweiten Langzeitprojekten mittels Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografien das Leben der Menschen am unteren Ende der Gesellschaft. Von 1986 bis 1999 widmete er sich hauptsächlich der Dokumentation des Endes des Industriezeitalters sowie der globalen Migration – nicht nur Flüchtlinge und Vertriebene, sondern auch Zuwanderer in den Megastädten der Dritten Welt. Sebastião Salgado, der zunächst in der renommierten Agentur Magnum Mitglied war, verließ diese und vermarktete seine Fotos durch die Agentur Amazonas Images, die er 1994 zusammen mit seiner Frau Lélia Wanick Salgado gründete. Seit den 1990er Jahren engagieren sie sich zusammen für ein Umweltprojekt (InstitutoTerra), das sich um die Aufforstung an der brasilianischen Atlantikküste sowie die ökologische Ausbildung der Landwirte kümmert. Der Fotograf wurde mit zahlreichen Fotopreisen ausgezeichnet – unter anderem mit dem Eugene Smith-, dem Hasselblad- und dem Oskar Barnack-Preis. Er lebt und arbeitet in Paris.

> Hier Online-Ticket kaufen und Wartezeiten vermeiden