You are here

WellWellWell: Digital Breathing

Performance-Lecture with Marisa Olson

Marisa Olson’s work combines performance, video/new media, painting/drawing, and installation to address the cultural histories of technology and wellness, experiences of gender, and the politics of participation within pop culture.

WellWellWell is her newest performative project to consider the nature of life in the postinternet era. In her performance-lecture at C/O Berlin, Marisa Olson probes the irony of our societal Zeitgeist: the feeling, on the one hand, that the Internet is making us more and more stressed, but on the other hand, that it is the place to go to find resources for mindfulness, tranquility, spirituality, and meditation. Virtual retreats, online gurus, and meditation apps have been popular for years and are now a booming business—and not just in Silicon Valley. In times of sensory and information overload and constant availability, they purport to guide us in finding inner peace, focus, and personal nirvana. In her inter(action) with visitors and in deploying both internet-based videos & live motivational lectures, Olson has crafted an alterego persona resembling an online meditation guru with a cult following as addicted to her as they are to the internet itself. The guru‘s videos and lectures guide followers through creative visualization exercises, relaxation techniques, and heartfelt conversations about the way that digital technologies simultaneously stress us out and provide new tools for rebooting. WellWellWell is inspired by the contemporary wellness craze, but rooted in the historical relationship between cyberculture & counterculture, and continues Olson‘s ongoing interests in the history of technology.

The event will be in English and is a collaboration by C/O Berlin with the Fotomuseum Winterthur as part of SITUATIONS and the internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen.

Marisa Olson (b. 1977 in Augsburg) lives and works in New York. Her work has been presented by the Whitney Museum of American Art, New Museum, Fotomuseum Winterthur, National Museum of Contemporary Art-Athens, Tate Modern and Liverpool, British Film Institute, PS122, 52nd Biennale di Venezia and at Sundance Film Festival among others. Olson is also a founding member of the Nasty Nets „internet surf club“. She was Artist-in-Residence at Eyebeam, Master Artist in Residence at the Atlantic Center for the Arts, and has been a Visiting Artist at Yale, Brown and NYU among others. She is the former Editor and Curator of Rhizome, and the former Associate Director of SF Camerawork; she has curated projects at the New Museum, Guggenheim, SFMOMA, White Columns, and Artists Space.

Beginn 20:30 Uhr
Tickets 5 Euro plus admission 10/6 Euro . Available online (plus booking fee) and at C/O Berlin . Box office opens 30 Min. before event . The event will be in English

Further information
www.wellwellwell.guru
#wwwell

Sie sind hier

WellWellWell: Digital Breathing

Performance-Lecture mit Marisa Olson

Marisa Olsons Werk kombiniert Performance, Video und neue Medien, Malerei, Zeichnung und Installation und befasst sich mit der kulturellen Geschichte von Technologie und Wellness, der Politik von partizipativen Praktiken in der Pop-Kultur und geschlechterspezifischen Erfahrungen. WellWellWell ist ihr neuestes performatives Projekt, das sich mit dem Leben im Post-Internet-Zeitalter auseinandersetzt. In ihrer Lecture-Performance ergründet Marisa Olson die Ironie unseres gesellschaftlichen Zeitgeists: Einerseits sich aufgrund des Internets immer gestresster zu fühlen, andererseits aber auch gerade dort zahlreiche Angebote zu Achtsamkeit, Entschleunigung, Spiritualität und Meditation vorzufinden. Virtual Retreats, Online-Gurus und Meditations-Apps haben seit Jahren Konjunktur und sich längst zu einem boomenden Wirtschaftszweig nicht nur im Silicon Valley entwickelt. In Zeiten der ständigen Erreichbarkeit, unerschöpflichen Informations- und Reizüberflutung sollen sie uns auf dem Weg zur inneren Ruhe, Konzentration und persönlichem Nirvana verhelfen. In der Inter(Aktion) mit dem Besucher begegnet uns Marisa Olson sowohl als Künstlerin als auch von ihr verkörperter Internet-Meditations-Guru. Mithilfe von Videos aus dem Netz und einem live veranstalteten Motivationstraining spricht sie in ihrer Performance zu einer Anhängerschaft, die von ihr und dem Internet gleichermaßen abhängig ist. Die Videos sowie Vorträge führen von Übungen in kreativer Visualisierung, hin zu Entspannungsübungen, und aufrichtigen Gespräche darüber, wie die digitalen Technologien uns gleichzeitig stressen und neue Kraftquellen erschließen. WellWellWell (ein Spiel mit //www.) ist von der gegenwärtigen Wellness-Welle inspiriert, hat seine Wurzeln aber in der traditionellen Verbindung von Netz- und Gegenkultur und setzt Olsons Beschäftigung mit der Geschichte der Technologie und visueller Kultur fort.

Die Veranstaltung findet in englischer Sprache statt und ist eine Zusammenarbeit von C/O Berlin mit dem Fotomuseum Winterthur im Rahmen von SITUATIONS und den internationalen Kurzfilmtagen Oberhausen.

Marisa Olson (geboren 1977 in Augsburg) lebt und arbeitet in New York. Ihre Arbeiten wurden unter anderem im Whitney Museum of American Art, New Museum, im Fotomuseum Winterthur, National Museum of Contemporary Art Athen, Tate Modern und Liverpool, British Film Institute, PS122 und auf der 52. Biennale di Venezia sowie auf dem Sundance Film Festival präsentiert. Olson ist Gründungsmitglied des Nasty Nets „internet surfing club“. Sie war Artist-in-Residence bei Eyebeam in New York, am Atlantic Center for the Arts und Visiting Artist an der Yale und Brown University sowie Dozentin u.a. an der NYU. Sie ist ehemalige Redakteurin und Kuratorin von Rhizome und frühere stellvertretende Direktorin der SF Camerawork. Als Kuratorin war sie für verschiedene Projekte am New Museum, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, SFMOMA, White Columns und Artists Space tätig.

Beginn 20:30 Uhr
Tickets 5 Euro zzgl. Eintritt 10 / 6 Euro
Erhältlich online (zzgl. VVK-Gebühr) und bei C/O Berlin . Abendkasse ab 30 Min. vor Veranstaltungsbeginn . Veranstaltung in englischer Sprache

Weitere Informationen
www.wellwellwell.guru
#wwwell