You are here

Stranger In Polaroid

Book Presentation and Talk

1984 at the Cannes International Film Festival, two directors, both celebrating their success together: Wim Wenders has been awarded the Palme d’Or for his film Paris, Texas (1984) and Jim Jarmusch the Caméra d’Or for the best debut film. Polaroid cameras were used to take photos on the sets of both films: Stranger Than Paradise (1984) is one of Jarmusch’s most important films and set him on the path to his international breakthrough. Originally conceived in 1982 as a short film, it was realized as a road movie two years later—having been expanded with three sections about New York, Cleveland, and Florida. In typical laconic Jarmusch style, full of poetry and a predilection for quirky characters, the film tells of the three immigrants, Willy, Eddy, and their Hungarian cousin Eva, who describe their lives in exile, their dreams, yearnings, and inner restlessness. Otto Grokenberger produced this cult film and his new photobook Stranger In Polaroid (2018) features exclusive, previously unpublished Polaroid images from the film’s set and production. These are the only color photographs that exist of the film set, locations, actors, and costumes. In conversation with curator Felix Hoffmann, Grokenberger will discuss his collaborations with Jarmusch, the film production process, and the unique qualities of Polaroid pictures. He will also present his photobook, recently released by photography and art book publisher JB. Institute Berlin.

Otto Grokenberger is the Executive Producer of the famous, black & white feature films Stranger Than Paradise (1984) and Down By Law (1986) by Jim Jarmusch. Grokenberger lives in Berlin and is currently working on an independent feature film, various photography books and exhibition projects.

Jenne Grabowski is the founder of art and photo-book publisher JB. Institute. He works as a freelance art director and curator and has directed a gallery for contemporary art and photography for the past three years (HVW8 Gallery). As a photographer he publishes his own books and zines.

Book Stranger In Polaroids – Forgotten Production Images . From Jim Jarmusch‘s Breakthrough Film
Beginn 8:30 pm
With Otto Grokenberger, Jenne Grabowski and Felix Hoffmann
Followed by the screening of Stranger than Paradise by Jim Jarmusch . 1984 . 1h 29 m
Language German
Ticket 15 / 11 Euro . Available online (zzgl. VVK-Gebühr) and at C/O Berlin from 03.09.2018

Sie sind hier

Stranger In Polaroid

Buchpräsentation und Gespräch

Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele von Cannes 1984, zwei Regisseure, beide feiern zusammen ihren Erfolg: Wim Wenders wird mit der Goldenen Palme für seinen Film Paris, Texas (1984) ausgezeichnet und Jim Jarmusch mit der Goldenen Kamera für den besten Debütfilm. Bei der Entstehung der beiden Filme wurde an den Sets mit Polaroid fotografiert: Stranger Than Paradise (1984) zählt zu Jarmuschs wichtigsten Filmen, der ihm zum internationalen Durchbruch verhalf. 1982 zunächst als Kurzfilm konzipiert, wird er zwei Jahre später zum Roadmovie – erweitert um drei Kapitel mit Passagen über New York, Cleveland und Florida. Der Film erzählt in typisch lakonischer Jarmusch-Manier, voller Poesie und der Vorliebe für skurrile Charaktere, von den drei Einwanderern Willy und Eddy sowie deren ungarischer Cousine Eva, die ihr Leben im Exil, ihre Träume, Sehnsüchte und innere Rastlosigkeit beschreiben. Otto Grokenberger hat diesen Kultfilm produziert und zeigt mit seinem neuen Bildband Stranger In Polaroid (2018) erstmals exklusive und bisher unveröffentlichte Polaroid-Bilder vom Set und der Produktion des Films. Es sind die einzigen Aufnahmen in Farbe, die vom Filmset, den Orten, Darstellern und Kostümen existieren. Im Gespräch mit Gestalter Jenne Grabowski und Kurator Felix Hoffmann spricht er über seine Zusammenarbeit mit Jim Jarmusch, die Entstehung des Films sowie die Besonderheit des Polaroid-Bildes und präsentiert sein jüngst veröffentliches Fotobuch, erschienen im Foto- und Kunstbuchverlag JB. Institute, Berlin.

Otto Grokenberger ist Executive Producer der berühmten Schwarz-Weiß-Spielfilme Stranger Than Paradise (1984) und Down By Law (1986) von Jim Jarmusch. Grokenberger lebt derzeit in Berlin und arbeitet an einem Independent-Spielfilm, diversen Fotobüchern und Ausstellungsprojekten.

Jenne Grabowski ist der Gründer des Kunst- und Fotobuchverlags JB. Institute. Er arbeitet als freier Art Director und Kurator und hat in den vergangenen drei Jahren eine Galerie für kontemporäre Kunst und Fotografie geleitet (HVW8 Gallery). Als Fotograf publiziert er seine eigenen Publikationen.

Buch Stranger In Polaroid – Forgotten Production Images . From Jim Jarmusch’s Breakthrough Film
Beginn
20:30 Uhr
Mit Otto Grokenberger, Jenne Grabowski und Felix Hoffmann
Anschließend Filmvorführung Stranger than Paradise von Jim Jarmusch . 1984 . 1h 29 m
Ticket 15 / 11 Euro . Erhältlich online (zzgl. VVK-Gebühr) und bei C/O Berlin ab 03.09.2018