You are here

RES ARTIS . Sharing Cultures and Social Change

Conference


RES ARTIS 05 BERLIN, which took place from September 28 to October 2, 2005, was devoted to the exchange between Asia and Europe. The founders and curators of art centers in Cambodia, China, Indonesia, India, Japan, Korea, Myanmar, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam discussed perspectives for cooperation in the global age with their colleagues from Europe. C/O Berlin was one of the conference venues.

Artist residencies are an important instrument for promoting cultural production worldwide. Today, in addition to the traditional artists' residences, we are seeing an increase in independent “art factories” and multidisciplinary initiatives that use different models and structures for promoting the international mobility of artists and that provide the facilities and networks conducive for creative work in all artistic disciplines. Artist residencies work in both urban and rural areas. They shape cultural dialogue, promote artistic production, interact with the local environment, and provide new impulses for social change at the local and regional level.


RES ARTIS, is an international network of artist residencies and residential art centers that began 12 years ago in Berlin and today as an NGO represents the interests of more than 200 institutions and initiatives in 50 countries. The network is an informal forum promoting the exchange of experiences and transnational cooperation. Res Artis provides useful information on its website, resartis.org, and holds international symposia with local partners, most recently in Amsterdam, Helsinki, New Delhi, Los Angeles, Melbourne and Sydney.

Sie sind hier

Res Artis . Sharing Cultures and Social Change

Tagung


RES ARTIS 05 BERLIN, vom 28.9. bis 2.10.2005, hat den Themenschwerpunkt Asien-Europa. Initiatoren und Kuratoren der Künstlerzentren u.a. aus Cambodia, China, Indonesien, Indien, Japan, Korea, Myanmar, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand und Vietnam diskutieren Perspektiven der Zusammenarbeit im Global Age mit ihren Kollegen aus Europa. C/O Berlin war einer der Veranstalltungsorte der Konferenz.

Artist–Residencies sind ein bedeutendes Instrument in der Entwicklung kultureller Produktion weltweit. Neben den klassischen Künstlerhäusern sind es heute zunehmend unabhängige „artfactories“ und multidisziplinäre Initiativen, die mit unterschiedlichen Modellen und Strukturen die internationale Mobilität von Künstlern unterstützen und notwendige Grundlagen und Netzwerke für das Schaffen in allen künstlerischen Disziplinen bereitstellen. Artist residencies arbeiten sowohl in urbanen Zentren als auch auf dem Lande. Sie gestalten Kulturaustausch, fördern neue Produktionen, interagieren mit dem lokalen Umfeld und geben Impulse für den sozialen Wandel in ihrer Region.


RES ARTIS, das Netzwerk der Künstlerhäuser und Artist Residencies, begann vor 12 Jahren in Berlin und verbindet heute als Internationale NGO mehr als 200 Institutionen und Initiativen in 50 Ländern der Welt. Das Netzwerk ist ein informelles Forum für den Erfahrungsaustausch und für grenzenüberschreitende, transglobale Zusammenarbeit. Res Artis bietet ein informatives web–Portal, resartis.org, und gestaltete internationale Symposien mit lokalen Partnern bisher u.a. in Amsterdam, Helsinki, New Delhi, Los Angeles, Melbourne und Sydney.