You are here

Nobuyoshi Araki

Impossible Love – Vintage Photographs

Ticket 10/6 Euro 

Public guided tours Saturday and Sunday 2 pm, 4 pm (German) and 6 pm (English) 


 A young woman with her legs spread wide; buttoned-up workers on a city street. The juxtaposition of intimate, private scenes against snapshots of nameless passers-by was an early commentary on the heterogeneity and the dysfunctionality of Japanese society. In 1973, Japanese photographer Nobuyoshi Araki (*1940 in Toyko) published these works in a book of image pairs showing life in Tokyo between 1969 and 1973, calling the societies and moral values into question. Today, he is one of the most influential and widely discussed artists in the world whose work deals with nakedness, sexuality, and the body in a radical and realistic way. What is in equal parts moving and unsettling to the viewer is the photographer’s lack of distance. His extreme intimacy with the subjects and the situations depicted is unique and revolutionary. As one of the pioneers of intimate, subjective photography, Araki not only is part of his subjects’ lives; he also plays a central role in his own photographs. In some works, he gets physical by ripping, cutting, and recomposing his images.

Curated by Felix Hoffmann, the exhibition Nobuyoshi Araki . Impossible Love—Vintage Photographs includes previously unpublished series of his early works, combined with a selection of his recent series Flower / Doll, Sky / Winds, and Polaroid collages. A catalog accompanying the exhibition will be published by Steidl Verlag, Göttingen.

Nobuyoshi Araki (b. 1940 in Tokyo) worked in advertising after completing his studies in photography and film at Chiba University in Tokyo, devoting himself exclusively to photography as of the mid-1960s. His oeuvre spans erotic portraits of women, artificial still-lifes, photographs of plants, documentary-style depictions of everyday life, and architectural photography but also very personal, diaristic photographs of himself and his deceased wife Yoko. Nobuyoshi Araki attained international fame, however, as a photographer of nudes and erotic scenes. He has published around 400 books over the course of his career. His works have been shown in innumerable international exhibitions and are part of important collections worldwide. Nobuyoshi Araki lives and works in Tokyo.

Photo: Ohne Titel, a.d.S. Theater of Love, 1965 © Nobuyoshi Araki . Courtesy Mark Pearson Privatsammlung

Sie sind hier

Nobuyoshi Araki

Impossible Love – Vintage Photographs

Eröffnung Freitag, 7. Dezember 2018 . 19 Uhr . freier Eintritt
Redner
Stephan Erfurt, Vorstand und Felix Hoffmann, Hauptkurator C/O Berlin Foundation

Gespreizte Schenkel einer jungen Frau, zugeknöpfte Berufskleidung auf der Straße – der Kontrast von intim-privater Atmosphäre und Momentaufnahmen namenloser Passanten ist ein Kommentar zur Heterogenität und Dysfunktionalität der japanischen Gesellschaft. Mit der in den Jahren 1969–1973 entstandenen und 1973 als Fotobuch veröffentlichten Serie von Bildpaaren über das Leben in Tokio hinterfragt der japanische Fotograf Nobuyoshi Araki (*1940 in Tokio) schon früh die soziale Verantwortung und moralische Haltung ihrer Mitglieder. Heute gilt er weltweit als einer der einflussreichsten und meistdiskutierten Künstler, der sich mit Nacktheit, Sexualität und Körper auf radikal-realistische Weise auseinandersetzt. Dabei ist es sein distanzloser Blick auf seine Objekte, der gleichermaßen berührt und verstört. Die extreme Nähe und Vertrautheit zu den dokumentierten Personen und Situationen machen seine Fotografien einzigartig und revolutionär. Als einer der Wegbereiter der intimen subjektiven Fotografie nimmt Araki nicht nur Anteil am Leben seiner Protagonist*innen, sondern ist selbst elementarer Teil seiner Bilder. Tatsächlich interagiert er auch physisch mit den Fotografien, indem er sie zerreißt, zerschneidet und neu montiert.

In der von Felix Hoffmann kuratierten Ausstellung Nobuyoshi Araki . Impossible Love—Vintage Photographs präsentiert C/O Berlin erstmals noch nie öffentlich gezeigte Serien aus Arakis Frühwerk, kombiniert mit jüngsten Arbeiten aus den Serien Flower / Doll und Sky / Winds sowie Polaroid-Collagen. Zur Ausstellung erscheint eine Publikation im Steidl Verlag, Göttingen.

Nobuyoshi Araki (*1940 in Tokio) arbeitet nach seinem Studium der Fotografie und Filmkunst an der Tokioter Chiba University zunächst in der Werbebranche und widmet sich erst ab Mitte der 1960er-Jahre ausschließlich der Fotografie. Das Spektrum seines Werks reicht von erotischen Frauendarstellung über artifizielle Stillleben, Pflanzenfotografien, reportagehaften Alltagsdarstellungen und Architekturaufnahmen bis hin zu sehr persönlichen, tagebuchartigen Fotografien von sich und seiner verstorbenen Frau Yoko. International bekannt wird Nobuyoshi Araki jedoch als Fotograf von Akten und erotischen Szenen. Rund 400 Buchpublikationen begleiten die Karriere. Seine Werke wurden in unzähligen internationalen Ausstellungen präsentiert und sind Teil bedeutender Sammlungen weltweit. Nobuyoshi Araki lebt und arbeitet in Tokio.

Eintritt 10/6 Euro 

Öffentliche Führungen 
Samstag und Sonntag 14 Uhr (deutsch), 16 Uhr (deutsch) und 18 Uhr (englisch)