You are here

FOOD MASSAGE SALON

The trEATment

With Marije Vogelzang . Eating Designerin
Ticket 10 /6 Euro (incl. exhibition) . Available online (plus booking fee) and at C/O Berlin at the day of the event.
On treatment takes about 20 min.

Imagine you are wrapped up in a blanket, lying in a hammock, just floating in the air. But where your mouth is meant to be, there’s only a hole. Your eyes are blindfolded. You distinguish the voice of a stranger who feeds you, massages you gently, and tells you stories about the delicious things you’ll eat and savor. You’re about to enter a new culinary world.

In conjunction with the exhibition Food for the Eyes: The Story of Food in Photography, Marije Vogelzang has developed the “Food Massage” performance for C/O Berlin, upending our preconceived notions of food and eating. Her culinary designs yield unusually meaningful results. Her project encourage us to consider different forms of food and the ways we consume, perceive, and enjoy them. She creates whole meals out of white ingredients; serves up salads out of components grown solely underground in the dark; follows long-forgotten wartime recipes; and crafts new culinary concepts for clients like Philips, Hermès, BMW, and Droog. Vogelzang is a pioneer and lauded figure in the field of eating design.

Marije Vogelzang (b. 1978 in Enschede, Netherlands) is an eating designer. After studying at Design Academy Eindhoven (2000), she opened PROEF, an experimental design studio-cum-restaurant in Rotterdam and Amsterdam. Since 2014, Vogelzang has led the FOOD NON FOOD department at Design Academy Eindhoven, and in 2016, she founded the Dutch Institute of Food & Design. She has grappled with concepts of perception, experience, and the socially acceptable and meaningful culinary aspects of food for over twenty years, provoking discussion via her publications, projects, performances, workshops, and presentations. She develops these specifically for restaurants, cultural institutions, and hospitals. Her award-winning work has been exhibited at museums, fairs, conferences, and festivals in Thailand, Hong Kong, Japan, India, Russia, the US, Canada, and across Europe. Vogelzang lives and works in Rotterdam.

Sie sind hier

FOOD MASSAGE SALON

The trEATment

Mit Marije Vogelzang . Eating Designerin
Beginn 12 Uhr bis 18 Uhr
Ticket 10 /6 Euro (inkl. Ausstellung) . Erhältlich online (zzgl. VVK-Gebühr) und bei C/O Berlin am Tag der Veranstaltung
Die Veranstaltung findet auf Englisch statt.
Eine Behandlung dauert ca. 20 min.

Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie sind in ein Tuch eingehüllt, liegen in einer Hängematte und schweben in der Luft. Nur dort, wo sich ihr Mund befindet, ist ein Loch. Ihre Augen sind verbunden. Sie hören die Stimme einer fremden Person, die sie füttert, ihnen eine sanfte Massage gibt, ihnen Geschichten erzählt zu den köstlichen Dingen, die Sie essen und schmecken werden. Es erwarten Sie neue kulinarische Welten.
Im Rahmen der Ausstellung Food for the Eyes . Die Geschichte des Essens in der Fotografie hat Marije Vogelzang für C/O Berlin die Performance „Food Massage“ entwickelt, um einen gänzlich neuen Zugang zu unseren Gefühlen mit und zum Essen zu schaffen. Sie entwirft Speisen und lässt mit ihren Projekten über andere Formen des Essens, dessen Konsum, Wahrnehmung und Genuss nachdenken und schafft ungewöhnlich sinnliche Erlebnisse. Sie veranstaltet Mahlzeiten ganz aus weißen Gerichten, serviert Salate, deren Zutaten allein im Dunkeln unter der Erde wachsen, oder kocht längst vergessene Rezepte aus dem Krieg nach und entwirft neue kulinarische Konzepte für Kunden wie Philips, Hermès, BMW oder Droog. Vogelzang zählt zu den Pionier*innen und anerkanntesten Persönlichkeiten im Feld des Eating Designs.

Marije Vogelzang (*1978 in Enschede, Niederlande) ist Eating Designerin. Nach ihrem Studium an der Design Academy in Eindhoven (2000) eröffnet sie mit „PROEF" (2004/2006) eine experimentelle Mischung aus Designstudio und Restaurant in Rotterdam und Amsterdam. Vogelzang leitet seit 2014 das Department FOOD NON FOOD an der Design Academy in Eindhoven. Sie ist Gründerin des Dutch Institute of Food & Design (2016). Seit mehr als 20 Jahren beschäftigt sie sich in ihren Publikationen, Projekten, Performances, Workshops und Vorträgen mit neuen Konzepten der Wahrnehmung, dem Erleben und der Auseinandersetzung mit gesellschaftlich sozialen und sinnlich-kulinarischen Aspekten des Essens. Diese entwickelt sie individuell für Restaurants, kulturelle Institutionen oder auch für Krankenhäuser. Ihre Arbeiten wurden in Museen, auf Messen, Konferenzen und Festivals in Thailand, Hongkong, Japan, Indien, Russland, USA, Kanada sowie in ganz Europa realisiert und vielfach ausgezeichnet. Vogelzang lebt und arbeitet in Rotterdam.