You are here

Michael Danner

Migration as Avant-Garde

„Refugees driven from country to country represent the vanguard of their peoples— if they keep their identity. “
– Hannah Arendt, We Refugees (1943)

The sun is sinking into the ocean in a postcard-perfect view, a watermelon is being sliced up on the beach, and a gold blanket glitters in the summer heat. Yet Michael Danner’s photographs subvert our expectations and counter our clichés of a sojourn on the Mediterranean. Almost imperceptibly, they displace our inevitable associations of idyllic vacations and reinterpret summer, beach, and sea to show the threats of a humanitarian catastrophe. In the settings of our vacation fantasies, twenty-first century refugees on the coasts of Morocco, Tunisia, Spain, Greece, and Turkey are confronted with danger, loss, and death. Such gold survival blankets have been a symbol for Europe’s refugee crisis since fall 2015. According to the UN, over 70 million people around the world are currently seeking refuge—more than ever before.

Michael Danner takes a political and anthropological approach in his work, in which explorations of conflict regions and their history play a central role. His long-term conceptual documentary project with the seemingly provocative title Migration as Avant-Garde (2008–2017) is a moving, critical, and rousing work about Europe’s borders. Danner’s surprising juxtaposition of the terms “migration” and “avant-garde” stems from his reading of political scientist Hannah Arendt’s essay We Refugees (1943). Beginning with her notion of flight as a radical act of self-determination and faith in progress, Danner’s project examines different forms of migration, including freedom of movement within the EU, labor migration, emigration, flight, and displacement. Migration as Avant-Garde deftly brings together numerous visual commentaries on the current global situation while allowing viewers to make their own interpretation and avoiding explicit depictions of desperate situations. Danner’s project is a counterpoint to the conventional journalistic narrative of news photographs. Uninterested in simply informing or deliberately shocking his audience, Danner weaves together his own images, archival photographs, and quotations from Arendt to form a visual dialogue about one of humankind’s oldest actions: moving from one place to another.

C/O Berlin is the first institution in the world to exhibit this project, for which Danner received the Dummy Award at the Fotobookfestival in Kassel in 2018. The sophisticated book design makes use of layers and collage, and the exhibition translates this approach into three dimensions, with framed photographs, projected images, and designed fragments of text.

Michael Danner (b. 1967 in Reutlingen) is a German photographer who has worked for a number of magazines and agencies. Since 2016, he has been a professor of photography at the University of Applied Science Europe. He studied photo design at the Fachhochschule Bielefeld and photography at the University of Brighton. Danner has shown his work at international exhibitions including Fotofestiwal Łódź (2019), Darmstadt Photography Days (2018), Fotodoks Munich (2017), and Hereford Photography Festival (2010, 2004). Back in 2005, he took part in the group exhibition Born in the Sixties at C/O Berlin’s former location in Linienstraße. He has received support from Stiftung Kunstfonds (2012) and was awarded a grant for contemporary German photography from Museum Folkwang and the Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung (2018). He was nominated for the German Photobook Prize in 2014–15 and received the Dummy Award at the Fotobookfestival in Kassel in 2018 for Migration as Avant-Garde. The book was published in 2019 by Kehrer Verlag. Michael Danner lives and works in Berlin.

Sie sind hier

Michael Danner

Migration as Avant-Garde

„Die von einem Land ins andere vertriebenen Flüchtlinge repräsentieren die Avantgarde ihrer Völker – wenn sie ihre Identität aufrechterhalten.“
– Hannah Arendt, Wir Flüchtlinge (1943)

Wie in einer Postkartenlandschaft versinkt die Sonne im Meer, am Strand wird eine Wassermelone angerichtet, golden glitzert eine Decke in der Sommerhitze. Doch Michael Danners Fotografien brechen mit unseren Klischees und Erwartungen an einen Aufenthalt im Mittelmeerraum. Fast unmerklich überschreiben sie die allbekannte Urlaubsidylle, um Sommer, Strand und Meer umzudeuten und das bedrohliche Szenario einer humanitären Katastrophe hervorzukehren: Die Geflüchteten des 21. Jahrhunderts erleben unsere Ferienträume an den Küsten von Marokko, Tunesien, Spanien, Griechenland oder der Türkei als Konfrontation mit Bedrohung, Untergang und Tod. Seit Herbst 2015 steht jene goldene Rettungsdecke als Symbol für die europäische Flüchtlingskrise. Aktuell sind laut UN weltweit mehr als 70 Millionen Menschen auf der Flucht – so viele wie noch niemals zuvor.

Michael Danner verfolgt mit seiner Arbeit einen ebenso politischen wie anthropologischen Ansatz, bei dem die Untersuchung von umstrittenen Gebieten und ihrer Geschichte eine zentrale Rolle einnimmt. Sein konzeptionell-dokumentarisches Langzeitprojekt (2008–2017) mit dem vordergründig provokanten Titel Migration as Avant-Garde ist ein bewegender, kritischer und aufrüttelnder Beitrag über die Grenzen Europas. Mit der irritierenden Kombination der Begriffe Migration und Avantgarde bezieht sich Danner auf den Essay Wir Flüchtlinge (1943) der politischen Theoretikerin Hannah Arendt. Ausgehend von ihrer Vorstellung der Flucht als radikalem Akt der Selbstbestimmung und des Fortschrittsglaubens thematisiert Danner mit seinem Projekt unterschiedliche Formen der Migration: Allgemeine Freizügigkeit innerhalb der EU, Arbeitsmigration, Auswanderung, Flucht und Vertreibung. Subtil vereint Migration as Avant-Garde zahlreiche visuelle Kommentare zur aktuellen Lage der Welt, überlässt die Interpretation aber den Betrachter*innen und vermeidet es, Notsituationen explizit zu verbildlichen. Danners Projekt ist ein Gegenentwurf zur klassischen Erzählung der Nachrichtenbilder. Anstatt nur zu informieren oder bewusst zu schockieren, eröffnet Michael Danner einen visuellen Dialog über eines der ältesten Phänomene der Menschheit: Die Bewegung von einem Ort zum anderen.

C/O Berlin präsentiert das Projekt, für das Michael Danner 2018 mit dem Dummy Award des Kasseler Fotobookfestivals ausgezeichnet wurde, weltweit erstmals in Form einer institutionellen Ausstellung. Das auf Schichtung und Collage basierende komplexe Buchdesign wird durch die Kuration von Dr. Kathrin Schönegg in Form von gerahmten Fotografien, Projektionen und gestalteten Textfragmenten in den Raum übersetzt.

Michael Danner (*1967 in Reutlingen) ist ein deutscher Fotograf, der für diverse Magazine und Agenturen arbeitet und seit 2016 Professor für Fotografie an der University of Applied Science Europe ist. Er hat Fotodesign an der Fachhochschule Bielefeld und Fotografie an der University of Brighton (UK) studiert. Mit seinen Arbeiten war er an internationalen Ausstellungen beteiligt, u.a. beim Fotofestiwal Łódź (2019), den Darmstädter Tagen für Fotografie (2018), beim Fotodoks München (2017) oder dem Hereford Photography Festival (2010, 2004). Schon im Jahr 2005 nahm er an der Gruppenausstellung Born in the Sixties an C/O Berlins früherem Standort, in der Linienstraße, teil. Er wurde von der Stiftung Kunstfonds (2012) gefördert und mit dem Stipendium Zeitgenössische deutsche Fotografie vom Museum Folkwang und der Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung (2018) ausgezeichnet. 2014/2015 war er für den deutschen Fotobuchpreis nominiert und erhielt 2018 den Dummy Award des Fotobookfestival Kassel für Migration as Avant-Garde. Die Publikation erschien 2019 im Kehrer-Verlag. Michael Danner lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.