You are here

Harald Hauswald

Voll das Leben! . Retrospektive

Raucous, flamboyantly dressed punks, hippies, and kissing couples in a sea of Trabi cars, confrontational banners and demonstrators at Alexanderplatz in East Berlin, shadowy figures and drunks at festivals and neighborhood bars, law-abiding citizens waiting patiently at stops: Harald Hauswald’s gaze is authentic and tender. His images radiate a sympathy for the objects and people he photographs, preserving their dignity and setting them apart from the surrounding madness and decay. The photographer shows the monotony and slowness of life in East Germany, bearing witness to an insular and isolated world shortly before its downfall. In contrast to the West’s prevalent images of the GDR as a country defined by the socialist state and the Free German Youth organization, by the Berlin Wall and barbed wire, by marches and military parades, Hauswald’s photographs offer unique and revealing insight into everyday socialist life, showing the evolving cityscape of East Berlin and the activities of opposition groups, artists, and youth subcultures.

The fact that Hauswald himself moved in these circles ensured that he was always present in his photographs, for he was a participant and not merely an observer. On his wide-ranging travels through East Berlin and to obscure spots in East Germany in the 1970s and ’80s, he laid bare the contrast between everyday life in decrepit cities and the inner emptiness concealed behind the laboriously constructed façade of the communist state. His black-and-white photographs alternate between an enchanted, playful intimacy and a sharply satirical, dispassionate gaze.

For twenty-eight days, two months, and twenty-six days, the “anti-fascist protection barrier” known as the Berlin Wall divided the city and its inhabitants into East and West. This exhibition documents the social and political lives of people in East Germany and shows the challenges arising during the shift to a reunified Germany. As a co-founder of the photographers’ agency OSTKREUZ, Hauswald is one of the most important German figures in the history of photography. His works are invaluable, forming as they do a visual record of the history of a divided Germany. The Ostkreuz Association for Photography is working to ensure the conservation of over 7,500 of his rolls of film by the end of 2020. 6,000 individual images will be digitalized as part of a major project funded by the Federal Foundation for the Study of Communist Dictatorship in East Germany.

This show is Harald Hauswald’s first retrospective. It shows roughly 250 photographs taken between the late 1970s and the mid-1990s, including a large number of previously unpublished images. His images are placed in dialogue with the contents of the file kept on him by the East German secret police, the Stasi. No other East German photographer was monitored as closely as he was. The contents of the file were contributed by around forty informants (or “unofficial collaborators”) between 1977 and 1989 under the code name “Radfahrer” (cyclist). In 1985, the Stasi issued an internal warrant for Hauswald’s arrest on the grounds of anti-state activities, violating exchange-control regulations, acting as an agent, and passing on unclassified information. Hauswald was a single father and at times, his daughter was removed from his custody. This exhibition is the first to juxtapose references to contemporary history, photography, and work.

The exhibition is curated by Felix Hoffmann (C/O Berlin) in cooperation with Ute Mahler and Laura Benz (Ostkreuz). A catalogue published by Steidl Verlag accompanies the exhibition.

Harald Hauswald (b. 1954 in Radebeul, Saxony) is one of the most eminent East German photographers. Together with Sibylle Bergemann, Ute Mahler, Werner Mahler, and others, he founded OSTKREUZ – Agentur der Fotografen, a photographer- run agency. After completing a traineeship to become a photographer, Hauswald moved to East Berlin in 1978, where he worked as a telegram carrier in Prenzlauer Berg and for the Stephanus Foundation, among other things. From the early 1980s, he regularly published photo-essays in West German periodicals including GEO, Stern, Zitty, and taz, at first using a pseudonym and later under his own name. His work has been shown in over 250 solo exhibitions across Germany, the United States, France, Italy, the Netherlands, and elsewhere, and has been published in diverse publications on East Berlin and everyday life in the GDR. He was awarded the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany (1997) and the Einheitspreis – Bürgerpreis zur Deutschen Einheit (Citizens’ Award for German Unity, 2006). Harald Hauswald lives and works in Berlin.

Sie sind hier

Harald Hauswald

Voll das Leben! . Retrospektive

Leider sind unsere Ausstellungen vorübergehend geschlossen.

Laute und schrille Punks, Hippies und küssende Pärchen in einem Meer voller Trabbis, kämpferische Fahnen und Demonstrant*innen auf dem Alexanderplatz, Schattengeschöpfe und Betrunkene in ihrer Stammkneipe und auf Volksfesten oder geduldig wartende Bürger*innen an Haltestellen – Harald Hauswalds Blick ist unverfälscht und einfühlsam. Seine Bilder sind voller Sympathie für das fotografierte Objekt und die Menschen vor seiner Kamera. Sie behalten stets ihre Würde und stehen im Gegensatz zu dem sie umgebenden Zerfall und Irrsinn. Es sind Bilder von der Eintönigkeit, aber auch von der Langsamkeit des Lebens in der DDR, Zeugnisse einer abgeschotteten und eingeschlossenen Welt kurz vor ihrem Untergang. Entgegen dem vorherrschenden Bild des Westens über den Osten Deutschlands dominiert von SED und FDJ, Mauer und Stacheldraht, Aufmärschen und Militärparaden liefert Harald Hauswald eindringliche und einmalige Momentaufnahmen und Zeugnisse des sozialistischen Alltags, insbesondere der Entwicklung des Ostberliner Stadtraums und des Wirkens oppositioneller Gruppen, von Künstler*innen sowie verschiedenen Jugendkulturen.

Harald Hauswald war Teil der Szenen und dadurch gleichzeitig immanent in seinen Bildern – er hat sie gelebt und nicht nur fotografiert. Auf seinen ausgedehnten Streifzügen durch das Ost-Berlin der 1970er- und 80er-Jahre und zu den entlegensten Nebenschauplätzen in Ost-Deutschland hat er die Kontraste zwischen dem Alltag in zerschlissenen Städten und der inneren Leere in der angestrengten Selbstdarstellung des SED-Staates ins Bild gebracht. Seine Fotografien in Schwarz-Weiß sind ein stetiges Wechselspiel zwischen faszinierter, humorvoller Annäherung sowie kühler Distanz und satirischer Schärfe.

28 Jahre, 2 Monate und 26 Tage trennte die Berliner Mauer als sogenannter antifaschistischer Schutzwall die Stadt und ihre Menschen in Ost und West. Die Ausstellung dokumentiert das gesellschaftspolitische Zusammenleben von Menschen in der DDR und visualisiert die Herausforderungen eines Systemwandels im wiedervereinten Deutschland. Als Mitbegründer der Agentur OSTKREUZ ist Harald Hauswald einer der wichtigsten Protagonisten deutscher Fotogeschichte. Seine Fotografien sind von unschätzbarem Wert und bilden visuelle Erinnerungen deutsch-deutscher Geschichte.

Bis Ende 2020 werden mehr als 7.500 seiner belichteten Filme durch den Ostkreuz-Verein für Fotografie konservatorisch gesichert. Im Rahmen einer umfangreichen Projektförderung der Bundesstiftung zur Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur werden daraus 6.000 Einzelbilder digitalisiert.

Die Ausstellung zeigt ca. 250 Fotografien, die Ende der 1970er bis Mitte der 1990er Jahre entstanden sind, darunter eine Vielzahl bislang noch unveröffentlichter Motive. Es handelt sich um die erste Retrospektive von Harald Hauswald. Zusätzlich werden Inhalte und Teile seiner Stasi-Akte mit der Ausstellung verwoben. Über keinen anderen ostdeutschen Fotografen gibt es eine vergleichbar ausführliche Dokumentation, die zwischen 1977 und 1989 unter der Observation von etwa 40 inoffiziellen Mitarbeiter*innen entstanden ist und unter dem Namen „Radfahrer“ geführt wurde. 1985 erhielt Hauswald einen Stasi-internen Haftbefehl wegen „staatsfeindlicher Hetze“, „Devisenvergehen“, „Agententätigkeit“ und „Weitergabe nicht geheimer Nachrichten“ – auch seine Tochter wurde ihm als alleinerziehender Vater zeitweise weggenommen. Dieser Dialog zwischen zeithistorischem Bezug, Fotografie und Werk wird erstmals in einer Ausstellung aufbereitet und gezeigt.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Felix Hoffmann (C/O Berlin) in Zusammenarbeit mit Ute Mahler und Laura Benz (Ostkreuz) kuratiert. Sie wird begleitet von einer Publikation im Steidl Verlag.

Begleitend zur Schau erscheint ein kostenfreier Kinderguide für junge Entdecker*innen zwischen 8 und 12 Jahren.

 

 

 

Harald Hauswald (*1954 in Radebeul, Sachsen) zählt zu den bedeutendsten Fotografen der DDR und gehört neben Sibylle Bergemann, Ute Mahler und Werner Mahler zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der OSTKREUZ – Agentur der Fotografen. Nach einer Fotografenlehre zog Hauswald 1978 nach Ost-Berlin, wo er u. a. als Telegrammbote im Prenzlauer Berg und für die Stephanus-Stiftung arbeitete. Bereits Anfang der 1980er Jahre veröffentlichte er regelmäßig, zunächst unter einem Synonym und später unter seinem Namen, Fotoreportagen in westlichen Magazinen wie GEO, Stern, Zitty oder der taz. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehr als 250 Einzelausstellungen u. a. in ganz Deutschland, den USA, Frankreich, Italien und den Niederlanden gezeigt und in unterschiedlichsten Publikationen zum Thema Ost-Berlin und Alltag in der DDR veröffentlicht. Harald Hauswald ist Träger des Bundesverdienstkreuzes (1997) und erhielt 2006 den „Einheitspreis – Bürgerpreis zur Deutschen Einheit“. Hauswald lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.