You are here

Felicity Hammond

Remains in Development

Smiling and larger than life, the perfectly styled single woman of the future gazes out at us. Her light-drenched luxury apartment in a glass-fronted skyscraper towers over a futuristic urban panorama. By now, we’ve long grown accustomed to such oversized advertisements and colorful billboards in the public space, to the point where we hardly notice them, at least not consciously. But still, such images cleverly play on our hopes and desires. They promote the glossy opportunities an urban life promises, albeit one that has come to seem suspiciously interchangeable across the world’s metropolises.

In her work, British artist Felicity Hammond confronts the social, political, and economic contradictions of the postmodern city, whose buildings and façades shape our collective identity and open up a future by obliterating the past. Hammond’s large- scale collages combine found images from glossy real estate brochures with her own photographs. They are reminiscent of apocalyptic historic images, but they never reveal the locations of the places they show or how they relate. Instead, the collages reflect the increasing homogenization of big cities, resulting from a process of urban development steered by power struggles between international real estate companies, profit-driven investors, and gentrification critics.

In Hammond’s work, advertising’s bold promises meet postindustrial mise-enscènes formed of car tires, construction debris, bags of plaster, wooden pallets, and abandoned materials from large-scale construction sites. It appears that – when it comes to urban planning—digitality and reality, plan and execution, utopia and dystopia exist in close proximity. Only partly framed, Hammond’s collages are often displayed open to the environment in which they are shown. The artist adapts the materials and format of the work to fit the given exhibition space. In doing so, she underscores the lack of materiality and the variability of the digital image. Lacking a fixed form, the work extends from the wall into three-dimensional space.

With Remains in Development, C/O Berlin presents Felicity Hammond’s first solo show in Germany. The exhibition draws on the artist’s monograph Property (2019) and translates elements from the book into three-dimensional space for the first time. Hammond thus brings together key works in her artistic oeuvre in a new constellation: collages and sculptural objects are displayed alongside an installation that draws attention to the chroma key process employed in film and photographic technology, used to digitally remove greenscreen backgrounds, which are replaced by other images for advertising pamphlets and posters. In tandem with the exhibition at C/O Berlin, Hammond will display her artworks on advertising columns, thus returning them to an urban context. These five objects will be positioned at B-Part Am Gleisdreieck, in front of Kühlhaus Berlin in Luckenwalder Straße and around Amerika Haus.

The exhibition, curated by Dr. Kathrin Schönegg, is co-produced with Kunsthal Extra City, Antwerp.

 

 

Felicity Hammond (b. 1988 in Birmingham, UK) received an MA in Photography
from the Royal College of Art in London in 2014 and is currently a Contemporary Art
Research PhD candidate at Kingston University, UK. Alongside solo shows in England,
the Netherlands, and Canada, Hammond has exhibited her work at international
group shows at Photographers’ Gallery (2018), Fotomuseum Winterthur (2017),
Tate Modern (2016), and FOAM Amsterdam (2016), among others. Her work has
been nominated for a number of awards, most recently the Deutsche Börse Photography
Foundation Prize (longlist, 2019). She has been awarded the Lumen Art Prize
(2018), FOAM Talent (2016), and the British Journal of Photography International
Photography Award (single image winner, 2016). Hammond’s first book, Property,
was published in 2019 by Self Publish, Be Happy. She lives and works in London.

Sie sind hier

Felicity Hammond

Remains in Development

Lächelnd und riesig groß blickt uns die perfekt gestylte Singlefrau der Zukunft an. Ihr lichtdurchflutetes Luxusapartment in einem transparenten Hochhaus thront über dem futuristischen Panorama der City. Auch wenn wir uns längst an diese Maxi-Werbeflächen und bunten Billboards im öffentlichen Raum gewöhnt haben und sie kaum mehr bewusst wahrnehmen, spielen diese Bilder geschickt mit unseren Wünschen und Sehnsüchten. Sie künden von glänzenden Chancen und Verheißungen eines urbanen Lebens, das in den Metropolen dieser Welt jedoch verdächtig gleich aussieht. 


Die britische Künstlerin Felicity Hammond setzt sich in ihrer Arbeit mit den sozialen, politischen und ökonomischen Widersprüchen der postmodernen Stadt auseinander, deren Gebäude und Fassaden unsere kollektive Identität prägen und Zukunft suggerieren, indem sie Geschichte auslöschen. In ihren großformatigen Collagen kombiniert Hammond gefundene Bilder aus Hochglanzbroschüren der Immobilienunternehmen mit selbst aufgenommenen Fotografien. Sie erinnern an apokalyptisch aufgeladene Historienbilder, verweisen aber nicht auf konkrete Orte und dechiffrierbare Bezüge, sondern spiegeln vielmehr die zunehmende Uniformisierung der Großstädte – als Ergebnis einer Stadtentwicklung, die vom Machtkampf zwischen international operierenden Real-Estate-Firmen, renditeorientierten Investor*innen und kritischen Gentrifizierungsgegner*innen bestimmt wird.

Bei Hammond trifft das selbstbewusste Versprechen der Werbung auf postindustrielle Szenerien aus Autoreifen, Bauschutt, Gipssäcken, Paletten und liegengelassenem Material einer Großbaustelle. Es scheint, als lägen beim Städtebau Digitalität und Realität, Planung und Umsetzung, Utopie und Dystopie ganz nah beieinander. Hammonds Collagen sind selten gerahmt, sie bleiben offen für die Umgebung, in der sie gezeigt werden. Material und Format passt die Künstlerin an die jeweilige Ausstellungssituation an und betont damit die Stofflosigkeit und Variabilität des digitalen Bildes, das sich ohne fixierte Form von der Wand in den physischen Raum ausdehnt.

Mit der Ausstellung Remains in Development präsentiert C/O Berlin Felicity Hammonds erste Einzelschau in Deutschland. Sie basiert auf der Monografie Property (2019) und übersetzt erstmals Elemente des Buches in die Dreidimensionalität. Dabei bringt Hammond zentrale Arbeiten ihres künstlerischen Werks in einer neuen Konstellation zusammen: Collagen und skulpturale Objekte sind gemeinsam mit einer Installation zu sehen, die das aus der Film- und Fototechnik bekannte Verfahren des Chroma Keyings thematisiert, das für die Freistellung von Hintergründen für Werbeprospekte oder Plakate verwendet wird. Ergänzend zur Ausstellung bei C/O Berlin hat die Künstlerin ihre Bildmotive auf Werbesäulen übertragen und bringt sie so zurück in die Stadt. Diese fünf Objekte sind beim B-Part Am Gleisdreieck, vor dem Kühlhaus Berlin in der Luckenwalder Straße sowie vor dem Amerika Haus zu sehen.

Die von Dr. Kathrin Schönegg kuratierte Ausstellung ist eine Co-Produktion mit der Kunsthal Extra City, Antwerpen.

Felicity Hammond (*1988 in Birmingham, UK) hat ihren MA in Fotografie am Royal College of Art in London 2014 abgeschlossen und ist aktuell Doktorantin an der Kingston University, UK, wo sie an einem PhD Contemporary Art Research Projekt arbeitet. Neben einzelnen Solopräsentationen in England, den Niederlanden und Kanada waren ihre Werke Teil internationaler Gruppenausstellungen u.a. in der Photographers’ Gallery (2018), dem Fotomuseum Winterthur (2017), der Tate Modern (2016) und dem FOAM Amsterdam (2016). Ihre Arbeit war für diverse Preise wie zuletzt den Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize nominiert (longlist 2019) und wurde mit dem Lumen Art Prize (2018), dem FOAM Talent (2016) und dem British Journal of Photography International Photography Award (single image winner 2016) ausgezeichnet. Hammonds erstes Buch Property erschien 2019 bei Self Publish, Be Happy. Sie lebt und arbeitet in London.