You are here

Danny Lyon . Soc. Sci. 127 und Willie

Screening

Danny Lyon deals in both his photographs and his films with people on the periphery—the forgotten and marginalized who are excluded from participation in American society. Over the course of his career, Lyon produced around 20 films, most of them independently, outside the usual production and distribution channels. As a result, few of his films are known to a wider public. At its first event in partnership with the new delphi LUX of the Yorck Kinogruppe, C/O Berlin will be showing two films by Danny Lyon.

Soc. Sci. 127 (USA 1969, 21 Min., BW/color) is Danny Lyon’s first film. It is a direct yet bizarre portrait of Texas tattoo artist Bill Sanders, a hard-drinking, sharp-tongued macho in a scruffy t-shirt: an ex-con whose customers include homosexuals, prostitutes, and criminals—marginalized social groups that in the 1960s were associated with deviant or even illegal subcultures. In provocative, painfully real, sometimes surreal, and very intimate images, Danny Lyon succeeds in depicting the individual characters in deeply empathetic ways.



Willie (USA 1985, 82 Min., BW/color) is a documentary film by Danny Lyon and his wife Nancy Weiss Lyon. The camera accompanies Willie Jaramillo, a convict from the small town of Bernalillo, New Mexico. The film offers powerful insights into the social network and bleak living conditions of the main character. Lyon shows the prison, the guards’ rough treatment of prisoners, and the racism prevalent in one of the toughest cell blocks in the penitentiary, where Willie is locked up next to his childhood friend Michael Guzmann. While Willie is in prison for relatively minor offences, his friend has been convicted of murder. Here, too, Danny Lyon’s documentary style is close-up, direct, honest, and always treats his subjects as equals.



The films will be presented in English.

Location delphi LUX . Yva-Bogen . Kantstraße 10 . 10623 Berlin
Begin 6 pm
Introduction Danny Lyon and Dieter Kosslick, Advisory Board of C/O Berlin Foundation and Festival Director of Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
Admission 15 Euro . Online ticket plus fee . additional tickets at the box office

Sie sind hier

Danny Lyon . Soc. Sci. 127 und Willie

Filmabend

Danny Lyon beschäftigt sich nicht nur in seinen Fotografien, sondern auch in seinen Filmen immer wieder mit den Menschen am Rand, den Vergessenen und Marginalisierten, die von der Teilhabe an der amerikanischen Gesellschaft ausgeschlossen sind. Im Laufe seiner Karriere hat Lyon rund 20 Filme realisiert, die meisten davon unabhängig und jenseits der üblichen Produktions- und Vertriebswege, sodass nur wenige einer breiten Öffentlichkeit bekannt sind. In einer erstmaligen Zusammenarbeit mit dem neuen delphi LUX der Yorck Kinogruppe zeigt C/O Berlin zwei filmische Arbeiten von Danny Lyon.

Soc. Sci. 127 (USA 1969, 21 Min., sw/Farbe) ist Danny Lyons erstes filmisches Werk. Es ist ein direktes und doch bizarres Porträt des texanischen Tätowierkünstlers Bill Sanders, einem trinkfesten und scharfzüngigen Macho im schmuddeligen T-Shirt, einem Ex-Häftling, zu dessen Kunden Homosexuelle, Prostituierte und Vorbestrafte gehören – gesellschaftliche Randgruppen, die in den 1960er-Jahren stark mit von der Norm abweichenden oder gar illegalen Subkulturen assoziiert wurden. Mit provokativen, schmerzhaft realen, zuweilen skurrilen, aber auch sehr intimen Bildern schafft es Danny Lyon die einzelnen Charaktere immer wieder auf sehr empathische Weise darzustellen.



Willie
(USA 1985, 82 Min., sw/Farbe) ist ein Dokumentarfilm von Danny Lyon und seiner Ehefrau Nancy Weiss Lyon. Die Kamera begleitet Willie Jaramillo, einem Straftäter aus dem kleinen Vorort Bernalillo in New Mexico. Der Film gewährt tiefe Einblicke in das soziale Gefüge und die trostlosen Lebensumstände des Protagonisten. Er zeigt das Gefängnis, den rauen Umgang der Wärter und den Rassismus in einem der härtesten Zellblöcke der Strafanstalt, in dem Willie zusammen mit seinem Kindheitsfreund Michael Guzmann inhaftiert ist. Während Willie wegen relativ kleiner Delikte verhaftet ist, sitzt sein Freund wegen Mordes im Gefängnis. Danny Lyons Stil des Dokumentarischen ist auch hier nah, direkt, ehrlich und immer auf Augenhöhe.



Die Filme werden in englischer Sprache präsentiert.

Ort delphi LUX . Yva-Bogen . Kantstraße 10 . 10623 Berlin
Beginn 18:00 Uhr
Einführung Danny Lyon und Dieter Kosslick, Vorsitzender des Kuratoriums von der C/O Berlin Foundation sowie Direktor der Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
Eintritt 15 Euro . Online-Ticket zzgl. VVK-Gebühr . Restkarten an der Abendkasse