You are here

Danny Lyon . Message to the Future

Talk

On the occasion of the exhibition Danny Lyon . Message to the Future C/O Berlin extends a warm invitation to the lecture with Danny Lyon and David Campany.

The images of the civil rights movement, the biker scene and the daily lives of inmates and guards in Texan prisons would establish the American photographer and filmmaker Danny Lyon as one of the most important chroniclers of the political and social unrest. Throughout a career spanning over fifty years, Lyon took countless photographs documenting social reality and bearing unmistakable witness to the political battles of half a century – while also seamlessly
fusing his photographic work with moving images and the written word.

In conversation with the British curator, author and expert for photography David Campany, Danny Lyon will discuss his artistic development over the past decades and explore his social interest as well as its various aspects, which represent the important forces of his influential
artistic work.

Danny Lyon was born in New York in 1942. His work as a photographer and filmmaker was influenced by the American Beat Generation, in particular by authors such as James Agee and by Walt Whitman’s verse. Lyon graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in History from the University of Chicago in 1963. He had already joined the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) one year previously, and from 1962 onward, he photographed the African-American civil rights movement. The work appeared under the title Civil Rights. His first solo publication, the series The Bikeriders (1966), is considered one of his most important works, alongside the series The Destruction of Lower Manhattan (1967) and Conversations with the Dead (1967/68). In 1969, Lyon was awarded a fellowship by the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation for his photography, and received the same award for his film work in 1979. His pieces have been exhibited at renowned institutions around the globe, including the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Art Institute of Chicago, the Center for Creative Photography in Tucson, Arizona, and the Museum Folkwang in Essen, Germany. Danny Lyon lives and works in New Mexico and Maine, USA.

David Campany born in London in 1967, is a writer, curator and Reader in Photography at the University of Westminster, London. His books and exhibitions include A Handful of Dust (2015), Walker Evans: the Magazine Work (2014), and The Open Road: photography and the American Road Trip (2014). Campany has written for magazines such as Aperture, Frieze, Photoworks Source, The Oxford Art Journal and PA magazine. He has given numerous public lectures and has been a jury member for various international photography awards. Awards for his writing include the Alice Award (2015), the Infinity Award from the International Center of Photography (2012), and the Kraszna-Kraus Foundation Book Award (2008).

The lecture will be in English.

Begin
5:00 pm
Admission 20 Euro . reduced 15 Euro
Tickets online (plus fee) and at the box office on 16th September
Location C/O Berlin . Amerika Haus . Hardenbergstraße 22–24 . 10623 Berlin

Sie sind hier

Danny Lyon . Message to the Future

Gespräch

Anlässlich der Ausstellung Danny Lyon . Message to the Future lädt C/O Berlin zum Vortrag mit Danny Lyon und David Campany ein.

Mit den Aufnahmen über die Bürgerrechtsbewegung, die Bikerszene und den Alltag der Gefängnisinsassen und -wärter in Texas, wurde der US-amerikanische Fotograf und Filmemacher Danny Lyon zu einem der wichtigsten Chronisten der politischen und sozialen Unruhen. Während seiner mehr als 50-jährigen Karriere hat Lyon nicht nur unzählige sozialdokumentarische Fotografien und ein unverwechselbares visuelles Zeugnis von einem halben Jahrhundert Politkampf geschaffen, sondern auch sein fotografisches Werk mit bewegtem Bild und geschriebenem Wort untrennbar verschmolzen.

Im Gespräch mit dem britischen Kurator, Autor und Fotografie-Experten David Campany wird Danny Lyon über seine künstlerische Entwicklung der letzten Jahrzehnte und sein gesellschaftliches Interesse sowie dessen verschiedenen Aspekte in den Fokus rücken, die die wichtigsten Triebkräfte in seinem Schaffen darstellen.

Danny Lyon wurde 1942 in New York geboren. Er ist Fotograf und Filmemacher. Sein Werk wurde von der US-amerikanischen Beat Generation, insbesondere von Autoren wie James Agee und der Lyrik von Walt Whitman, geprägt. Danny Lyon studierte Geschichte und absolvierte 1963 seinen Bachelor of Arts an der University of Chicago. Bereits ein Jahr zuvor trat er dem Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) bei und fotografierte ab 1962 die schwarze Bürgerrechtsbewegung in den USA, die unter dem Titel Civil Rights erschien. Neben Lyons erster eigener Veröffentlichung der Serie The Bikeriders (1966) zählen die Bildreihen The Destruction of Lower Manhattan (1967) und Conversations with the Dead (1967/68) zu seinen wichtigsten Arbeiten. 1969 erhielt Danny Lyon das Stipendium der John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation für Fotografie und den gleichnamigen Preis für sein filmisches Werk 1979. Seine Arbeiten waren in zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen und namhaften Institutionen, wie dem Museum of Modern Art in New York, dem Art Institute of Chicago, dem Center for Creative Photography in Tucson, Arizona, sowie dem Folkwang Museum in Essen ausgestellt. Danny Lyon lebt und arbeitet in New Mexico und Maine, USA.

David Campany wurde 1967 in London geboren. Er ist Autor, Kurator und Dozent für Fotografie an der Universität von Westminster in London. Er veröffentlichte zahlreiche Bücher und kuratierte Ausstellungen, wie A Handful of Dust (2015), Walker Evans: the Magazine Work (2014) und The Open Road: photography and the American Road Trip (2014). Campany schreibt für Zeitschriften wie Aperture, Frieze, Photoworks, Source, The Oxford Art Journal und das PA magazine. Er hält Vorträge und ist Jurymitglied verschiedener internationaler Fotopreise. Für seine Veröffentlichungen hat er den Alice Award (2015), den Infinity Award des
International Center of Photography (2012) und den Kraszna-Kraus Foundation Book Award (2008) erhalten.

Der Vortrag findet auf Englisch statt.

Vortrag mit Danny Lyon und David Campany
Einführung Felix Hoffmann, Hauptkurator C/O Berlin Foundation
Uhrzeit 17:00 Uhr
Eintritt 20 Euro . ermäßigt 15 Euro .  Online zzgl. VVK-Gebühr . Abendkasse