You are here

Danny Lyon

Message to the Future

„My greatest strength has been empathy with others different from myself.” Danny Lyon

1963: Scenes of young African-American protestors applauding, one with his arm raised toward the sky; racial conflict and police brutality. Danny Lyon, the son of Jewish immigrants, was just twenty-one years old and a student at the University of Chicago when he fearlessly took these photographs of a protest that made history: the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom. These powerful images would establish the photographer and filmmaker as one of the most important chroniclers of the American civil rights movement. The year before, Lyon joined the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), the most important African-American civil rights organization, and became its official photographer. He went on to document the civil rights movement, turning his camera on countless gatherings, arrests, and funerals.

Alongside these early images of the civil rights movement, Lyon also photographed the series Conversations with the Dead (1967/68), the first to reveal the daily lives of inmates and guards in Texan prisons. In the year before, his collection The Bikeriders (1966) was a haunting, firsthand and unsparing glimpse of life inside the Chicago Outlaws Motorcycle Club, well before the release of the American cult film Easy Rider (1969) popularized the energy, independence, freedom, and romance of highways and Harley-Davidsons and brought them into the mainstream.

 

Throughout a career spanning over fifty years, Lyon took countless photographs documenting social reality and bearing unmistakable witness to the political battles of half a century—while also seamlessly fusing his photographic work with moving images and the written word. This unusual take on the world using photography, film, and literature as tools makes him unique in the history of American photography.

Of central importance for Lyon is the question of how the artist can explore the identity of such an unbelievably diverse country. As a sharp-eyed, engaged observer, his interest lies primarily in groups and subcultures considered to be on the margins of society. He is especially concerned with issues relevant to politics and culture. At the same time, his work is motivated by a personal quest for adventure and freedom, as well as by the drive to counteract the mainstream visual culture pedaled by the contemporary mass media. Constantly seeking new means of representation, Danny Lyon has developed an intensely subjective and participatory form of documentary photography, delving deeply into the particular situation and building particularly strong relationships to the people in front of his lens. Following in the footsteps of Walker Evans and Robert Frank, Lyon’s work greatly influenced artists such as Larry Clark and Nan Goldin, as well as shaping New Journalism and the Street Photography of 1960s America with its absolute realism.

Following the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco, the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York, and Fotomuseum Winterthur, C/O Berlin is the first and only institution in Germany to showcase this comprehensive retrospective. The exhibition Danny Lyon . Message to the Future presents approximately 175 works, including the photographer’s most important series from the late 1960s and 1970s, and offers a rare look at lesser-known films, collage works, and materials from Lyon’s private archive. The exhibition is curated by Julian Cox and organized by the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco.

Danny Lyon was born in New York in 1942. His work as a photographer and filmmaker was influenced by the American Beat Generation, in particular by authors such as James Agee and by Walt Whitman’s verse. Lyon graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in History from the University of Chicago in 1963. He had already joined the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) one year previously, and from 1962 onward, he photographed the African-American civil rights movement. The work was first published in the book The Movement with a text by Lorraine Hansberry. His first solo publication, the series The Bikeriders (1966), is considered one of his most important works, alongside the series The Destruction of Lower Manhattan (1967) and Conversations with the Dead (1967/68). In 1969, Lyon was awarded a fellowship by the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation for his photography, and received the same award for his lm work in 1979. His pieces have been exhibited at renowned institutions around the globe, including the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Art Institute of Chicago, the Center for Creative Photography in Tucson, Arizona, and the Museum Folkwang in Essen, Germany. Danny Lyon lives and works in New Mexico and New York City.

Sie sind hier

Danny Lyon

Message to the Future

„Meine größte Stärke ist meine Empathie mit Menschen, die anders sind als ich.” Danny Lyon

1963 – Szenen mit jungen afroamerikanischen Demonstranten, in die Hände klatschend, einer reckt den Arm nach oben, Rassenkampf und brutale Polizeigewalt. Danny Lyon, Sohn jüdischer Einwanderer, ist 21 Jahre jung, furchtlos und Student an der University of Chicago, als er diese Aufnahmen des Protestes und den historischen Marsch auf Washington für Arbeit und Freiheit fotografiert. Jene bewegenden Bilder machen den Fotografen und Filmemacher später zu einem der wichtigsten Chronisten der US-amerikanischen Bürgerrechtsbewegung. Ein Jahr zuvor tritt er dem Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) bei, wird offizieller Fotograf der wichtigsten schwarzen Bürgerrechtsbewegungsorganisation und dokumentiert mit seiner Kamera zahlreiche Versammlungen, Verhaftungen und Trauerfeiern der Civil Rights Movement.

Neben diesen frühen Aufnahmen von der Bürgerrechtsbewegung, entsteht die Bilderreihe Conversations with the Dead (1967/68), die erstmals den Alltag der Gefängnisinsassen und -wärter in Texas zeigt. Zeitgleich schildert er mit The Bikeriders (1966) hautnah und eindringlich das schonungslose Leben inmitten des Chicago Outlaws Motorcycle Club – noch bevor der amerikanische Kultfilm Easy Rider (1969) in die Kinos kommt und die romantischen Vorstellungen sowie das Lebensgefühl von Unabhängigkeit, Freiheit, Highway und Harley-Davidson populär und zum Mainstream werden.

Während seiner mehr als 50-jährigen Karriere hat Lyon nicht nur unzählige sozialdokumentarische Fotografien und ein unverwechselbares visuelles Zeugnis von einem halben Jahrhundert Politkampf geschaffen, sondern auch sein fotografisches Werk mit bewegtem Bild und geschriebenem Wort untrennbar verschmolzen. Diese besondere Sicht auf die Welt mit den Mitteln von Fotografie, Film und Literatur sind in der amerikanischen Fotogeschichte einzigartig.

Zentral geht Lyon der Frage nach, wie man sich als Künstler mit der Identität eines unwahrscheinlich vielfältigen Landes auseinandersetzen kann. Als engagierter und scharfer Beobachter interessieren ihn in erster Linie soziale Randgruppen und Subkulturen der Gesellschaft. Er konzentriert sich dabei immer auf politisch und kulturell relevante Themen. Gleichzeitig sind seine Arbeiten von einem persönlichen Verlangen nach Abenteuer und Freiheit motiviert, aber auch davon, einen Gegenpol zu dem zu setzen, was die Massenmedien der Zeit visuell boten. Auf der stetigen Suche nach neuen Darstellungsmöglichkeiten entwickelt Danny Lyon eine verstärkt subjektive und teilnehmende Form der dokumentarischen Fotografie, indem er sich tief in das Geschehen hineinbegibt und eine besondere Nähe zu den Menschen aufbaut, die vor seiner Kamera stehen. In der Nachfolge von Walker Evans und Robert Frank prägen die Werke von Danny Lyon Künstler wie Larry Clark oder Nan Goldin, aber auch den Geist des New Journalism und die US-amerikanische Street Photography der 1960er-Jahre mit ihrem absoluten Realismus.

Erstmals und als einzige Station in Deutschland präsentiert C/O Berlin nach den Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco, dem Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, sowie dem Fotomuseum Winterthur diese umfangreiche Retrospektive. Die Werkschau Danny Lyon . Message to the Future versammelt mit rund 175 Fotografien sowohl die wichtigsten Serien der späten 1960er- und 1970er-Jahre als auch die weniger bekannten Filme, Collagearbeiten und Materialien aus Danny Lyons privatem Archiv. Die Ausstellung wurde von Julian Cox kuratiert und von den Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco organisiert.

Danny Lyon wurde 1942 in New York geboren. Er ist Fotograf und Filmemacher. Sein Werk wurde von der US-amerikanischen Beat Generation, insbesondere von Autoren wie James Agee und der Lyrik von Walt Whitman, geprägt. Danny Lyon studierte Geschichte und absolvierte 1963 seinen Bachelor of Arts an der University of Chicago. Bereits ein Jahr zuvor trat er dem Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) bei und fotografierte ab 1962 die schwarze Bürgerrechtsbewegung in den USA. Diese erschienen erstmals unter dem Titel The Movement und mit einem Text von Lorraine Hansberry. Neben Danny Lyons Serie The Bikeriders (1966) zählen die Bildreihen The Destruction of Lower Manhattan (1967) und Conversations with the Dead (1967/68) zu seinen wichtigsten Arbeiten. 1969 erhielt Danny Lyon das Stipendium der John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation für Fotografie und den gleichnamigen Preis für sein filmisches Werk 1979. Seine Arbeiten waren in zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen und namhaften Institutionen, wie dem Museum of Modern Art in New York, dem Art Institute of Chicago, dem Center for Creative Photography in Tucson, Arizona, sowie dem Folkwang Museum in Essen ausgestellt. Danny Lyon lebt und arbeitet in New Mexico und New York City.

Eintritt 10/6 Euro
Öffentliche Führungen Samstag und Sonntag 14 Uhr und 16 Uhr . Samstag 18 Uhr in englisch