You are here

On the Cover of Vogue Ball

Voguing Event

On the Cover of Vogue Ball As part of the exhibition Irving Penn: Centennial, C/O Berlin presents a Vogue Ball for the first time under the direction of Zueira Mizrahi, member of the House of Mizrahi voguing family.

“Strike a pose! ... Magical, life’s a ball, so get up on the dancefloor, Vogue!” sang Madonna in her 1990 hit, first presenting voguing to a mainstream audience. The same year saw the premiere of the documentary film Paris is Burning. Influenced by the magazines, runways, and models of the glamorous fashion world, voguing, part of New York’s gay, transsexual, African- and Latin-American subculture, has its origins in the Harlem of the 1960s and 1970s. Since then, so-called “ballroom communities” have sprung up worldwide, from Germany to France to Japan. Voguing is queer, loud, expressive, and more than just a dance style. Marginalized from white, heteronormative, and privileged society, members created so-called “houses” with “ballrooms”—their own spaces where they could pose as stars and imitate a glamorous world—and that as opulently and naturally as possible. Here, Vogue Balls merged into competitions, with a jury choosing a winner in each category.


Inspired by Irving Penn’s countless covers for Vogue, the dancers will gather at C/O Berlin and translate the fashion shots, portraits, and still lifes of the photographer of the century into the movements and poses typical of voguing.

The jury consists of Honeysha Khan (Paris), Willow Mizrahi (Paris), Vinii Revlon (Paris), Marina Ultra Omni (Amsterdam), and Ritchy Ladurée (Paris). They number among, as does the host Zueira Mizrahi (Berlin), the protagonists of the European voguing scene. The competition includes the categories “Posing,” “Runway,” and “Realness.”

Jury
Honeysha Khan (Paris)
Willow Mizrahi (Paris)
Vinii Revlon (Paris)
Marina Ultra Omni (Amsterdam)
Ritchy Ladurée (Paris)

Commentator Matyouz Ladurée (Paris)
DJ Lucy Liu Ninja (Berlin)
Host Zueira Mizrahi (Berlin)

Sie sind hier

On the Cover of Vogue Ball

Voguing Event

Einlass 17 Uhr
Ticket 15 Euro . Vorverkauf beendet. Restkarten an der Abendkasse ab 17 Uhr.
Aftershow Party im 808 Club im Bikini Berlin ab 22:30 Uhr. Eintritt 12 Euro/ 9 Euro ermäßigt mit C/O Berlin Veranstaltungsticket.

C/O Berlin präsentiert im Rahmen der Ausstellung Irving Penn . Centennial – Der Jahrhundertfotograf erstmals einen Vogue Ball unter der Leitung von Zueira Mizrahi, Mitglied der Voguing-Familie “House of Mizrahi”.

„Strike a pose! ... Magical, life’s a ball, so get up on the dancefloor, Vogue!“ singt Madonna in ihrem Hit von 1990 und präsentiert Voguing einem Mainstream-Publikum. Im selben Jahr feiert der Dokumentarfilm “Paris is Burning” Premiere. Von den Magazinen, Laufstegen und Models der glamourösen Modewelt beeinflusst hat Voguing als Teil der New Yorker homo- und transsexuellen, afro- und lateinamerikanischen Subkultur seinen Ursprung in den 1960er- und 70er-Jahre in Harlem. Seither haben sich von Deutschland über Frankreich bis Japan weltweit sogenannte „Ballroom Communities“ entwickelt. Voguing ist queer, laut, expressiv und mehr als nur ein Tanzstil. Marginalisiert von der weißen, heteronormativen und privilegierten Gesellschaft schufen sich die Mitglieder sogenannter „Houses“ mit dem „Ballroom“ ihren eigenen Ort, in dem sie die Stars darstellen und die glanzvolle Welt imitieren konnten – und das so opulent und selbstverständlich wie möglich. Hier treffen sie sich auf Vogue Balls zu Wettbewerben, bei denen eine Jury in verschiedenen Kategorien je einen Gewinner wählt.

Inspiriert von Irving Penns zahlreichen Covern für die Vogue, treffen sich die Tänzer*innen erstmals bei C/O Berlin und übersetzen die Modeaufnahmen, Porträts und Stillleben des Jahrhundertfotografen in die typischen Bewegungen und Posen des Voguing.

Die Jury besteht aus Honeysha Khan (Paris), Willow Mizrahi (Paris), Vinii Revlon (Paris), Marina Ultra Omni (Amsterdam) und Ritchy Ladurée (Paris). Sie zählen ebenso wie die Gastgeberin Zueira Mizrahi aus Berlin zu den Protagonisten der europäischen Voguing Szene. Die Kategorien “Posing”, “Runway” und “Realness” bilden die Disziplinen des Wettbewerbs.

Jury Honeysha Khan (Paris) Willow Mizrahi (Paris) Vinii Revlon (Paris) Marina Ultra Omni (Amsterdam) Ritchy Ladurée (Paris)
Commentator Matyouz Ladurée (Paris)
DJ Lucy Liu Ninja (Berlin)
Host Zueira Mizrahi (Berlin)