You are here

Contemporary Still Life

Still-Life Photography from Vanitas to the Editorial

Whether it's classical still life, the presentation of products or photographing works of art. What makes for an exciting still life? How can inanimate objects be brought to life or put into the right perspective? And what kinds of photographic means make it possible to stage small objects?

Together with the photographer Antje Peters, the workshop participants will look at different forms of still-life photography – from traditional Vanitas to still-life editorial photography. Photographing is done in the studio. Technical aspects of photography and the perfection thereof play a role, but are also secondary matters. Not the final result, but the path to getting there itself is the goal. The participants will be able to experiment with the camera, light and composition and examine how everyday objects can be artfully staged as a still life or arranged in the style of a still-life editorial.

Antje Peters, 1979 born in Berlin, lives and works in Berlin. Since studying photography at the Utrecht School of the Arts, she has worked as an independent photographer and artist. In addition to the publication of her works in various books, such as The Book of Paper, The Curator as Barman (Automatic Books) oder Illusion (Lodret Vandret) and magazines, such as L’Officiel, Numéro Homme Berlin, KaDeWe Magazin, Die Dame Magazin, Baron Magazine, they have also appeared in exhibitions at Museum Boijmans van Beuningen, Goethe-Institut and TENT in Rotterdam, Knoll Galerie Wien as part of curated by_vienna, Amsterdams Center voor Fotografie and the European Months of Photography in Berlin. Her works are part of the current exhibition Optical Illusions . Contemporary Still Life at C/O Berlin.

Time 11 am–5 pm
max. 12 participants
Registration education@co-berlin.org
Admission 240 Euro

Sie sind hier

Workshop Contemporary Still Life

Stillleben-Fotografie vom Vanitas zum Editorial

Egal ob klassisches Stillleben, die Präsentation von Produkten oder das Ablichten von Kunstgegenständen. Was macht ein spannendes Stillleben aus? Wie können unbelebte Objekte zum Leben erweckt oder ins rechte Licht gerückt werden? Und mit welchen fotografischen Mitteln lassen sich kleine Dinge groß in Szene setzen?

Gemeinsam mit der Fotografin Antje Peters werden die Workshop-Teilnehmer auf unterschiedliche Formen der Stillleben-Fotografie blicken – vom traditionellen Vanitas-Stillleben bis zur Still-Life-Editorial-Photography. Fotografiert wird im Studio. Technische Aspekte der Fotografie und ihre Perfektion spielen eine Rolle, sind jedoch Nebensache. Nicht das vollendete Resultat, sondern der Weg ist das Ziel. Die Teilnehmer werden mit der Kamera, dem Licht und der Komposition experimentieren und untersuchen können, wie sich Alltagsgegenstände als Stillleben kunstvoll inszenieren oder im Stil eines Still-Life-Editorial arrangieren lassen.

Antje Peters, 1979 in Berlin geboren, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Seit ihrem Fotografie-Studium an der Kunstakademie in Utrecht arbeitet sie als selbständige Fotografin und Künstlerin. Neben der Veröffentlichung ihrer Arbeiten in verschiedenen Büchern, wie The Curator as Barman (Automatic Books) oder Illusion (Lodret Vandret), und Zeitschriften, wie L’Officiel, Numéro Homme Berlin, KaDeWe Magazin, Die Dame Magazin, Baron Magazine, waren diese in Ausstellungen im Museum Boijmans van Beuningen, Goethe-Institut und TENT in Rotterdam, Knoll Galerie Wien im Rahmen curated by_vienna, Amsterdams Centrum voor Fotografie sowie im Rahmen des European Month of Photography in Berlin zu sehen. Ihre Arbeiten sind Teil der aktuellen Ausstellung Optical Illusions . Contemporary Still Life bei C/O Berlin.

Uhrzeit 11–17 Uhr
max. 12 Teilnehmer
Anmeldung education@co-berlin.org
Teilnahmegebühr 240 Euro