You are here

Christopher Williams

MODEL: Kochgeschirre, Kinder, Viet Nam (Angepasst zum Benutzen)


Public Guided Tours . Sat + Sun and holidays . 2:00 p.m. + 4:00 p.m. (German) . 6:00 p.m. (English)

Rooted in the medium of photography, Christopher Williams examines the use and agency of images as they function within the industrial culture of the late capitalist era, investigating its systems of meaning and classification. Working primarily with singular images throughout a range of photographic styles and genres, Williams’s technically precise photographs, often produced in collaboration with set designers, models, and technicians, recall imagery from 1960s advertising, the Cold War era, as well as the histories of art, photography, and cinema, from Pop Art and Capitalist Realism to New Objectivity and Surrealism.

Williams’s work does not end when the photograph is taken, but includes all elements of its display, such as printing, matting, framing, hanging height, titles, and so on, as crucial aspects of the reception of the image. Much in the same way that a playscript is adapted for each new performance, the reception visual images are dependent on their methods and context of display. Each of Williams’s exhibitions represents careful stagings and restagings of the photographs, constructing a montage-like relationship between images that, underscored by an explicit relationship to contextual elements such as architecture, exhibition design, and institutional frameworks, demonstrates the provisional nature of the meaning of images.

Theater has increasingly been a touchstone for Williams, and the exhibition Christopher Williams . MODEL: Kochgeschirre, Kinder, Viet Nam (Angepasst zum Benutzen) at C/O Berlin utilizes its terminology to restage three rooms from previous exhibitions, including Wiels Center for Contemporary Art in Brussels, Galerie Nächst St. Stephan in Vienna, and a solo booth at the Frieze Art Fair in New York. In addition to replicating these presentations within the terms of a new exhibition at C/O Berlin, each physical element of the photographs has also been reconsidered, reprinted in a different size, and framed with different materials. Each of these rooms presents adaptations of these earlier permutations, underlining the exhibition format itself as a medium. A fourth room in the exhibition at C/O Berlin includes a display of materials on loan from the archives of Bertolt Brecht, Guy Debord, Harun Farocki, Peter Weiss, and Edward Weston, building a historical ground for a discussion about adaptation, modeling, and the reuse of existing images.

The photographs on display include the genres of portraiture, still life, and street photography, with subjects ranging from camera lenses, a stage set, shop-window displays, an African mask, and the staging of professional models for the production of their own image. These photographs are also often made based on existing images or image types, adapting and isolating fragments from our image world at large, reframing them for an analysis of the terms under which our culture produces and consumes them.

This general introduction sets the stage for a tense family drama.

 

 

Christopher Williams (b. 1956 in Los Angeles, CA) is a photographer and conceptual artist. In the late 1970s, he studied at the California Institute of the Arts under John Baldessari and Douglas Huebler, among others, and became one of the most important conceptual artists of his generation. Since 2008 he has headed the department of photography at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. His works have been exhibited at prestigious institutions and fairs, such as the Kestner Gesellschaft, Hanover (2018), La Triennale di Milano, Milan (2017), ETH Exhibitions, Zurich (2017), Whitechapel Gallery, London (2015), the Art Institute of Chicago (2014–15), Museum of Modern Art, New York (2014), Bergen Kunsthall (2010), Staatliche Kunsthalle Baden-Baden (2010) and Bonner Kunstverein (2009).

Images Credits: Christopher Williams, Bergische Bauernscheune, Junkersholz, Leichlingen September 29, 2009, 2010, Archival Pigment Print, 50,8 x 61 cm paper, 83,5 x 94 cm framed © Christopher Williams . Courtesy Gallery Gisela Capitain, Colgone and David Zwirner, New York / London / Hong Kong

Sie sind hier

Christopher Williams

MODEL: Kochgeschirre, Kinder, Viet Nam (Angepasst zum Benutzen)


Öffentliche Führungen . 
Sa + So und Feiertage. 14:00 + 16:00 (Deutsch) . 18:00 (Englisch)
Public Guided Tours . Sat + Sun and holidays . 2:00 p.m. + 4:00 p.m. (German) . 6:00 p.m. (English)

Verankert im Medium Fotografie erforscht Christopher Williams die Verwendung und Wirkmacht von Bildern in der industriellen Kultur des Spätkapitalismus, um so ihren Bedeutungs- und Ordnungssystemen auf die Spur zu kommen. Williams arbeitet vorzugsweise mit Einzelbildern, für die er verschiedene fotografische Stile und Genres nutzt. Seine technisch ausgefeilten Aufnahmen entstehen oftmals in Zusammenarbeit mit Setdesigner*innen, Models und Techniker*innen und rufen die Bildwelten der Werbung in den 1960er-Jahren und im Kalten Krieg ebenso auf wie die Geschichte der Kunst, der Fotografie und des Kinos – von Pop Art und Kapitalistischem Realismus bis zu Neuer Sachlichkeit und Surrealismus.

Williams’ Arbeit endet nicht mit der Aufnahme des Fotos, sondern umfasst sämtliche Aspekte seiner Präsentation. Für ihn sind Abzug, Passepartout, Rahmung, Höhe der Hängung, Bildunterschrift, etc. wesentliche Faktoren für die Rezeption eines Bildes. So wie ein Dramentext in jeder Inszenierung neu interpretiert wird, hängt auch die Wahrnehmung von Bildern von der Art und Weise ihrer Präsentation und dem Kontext ab. Williams inszeniert und reinszeniert in seinen Ausstellungen die einzelnen Fotografien mit höchster Sorgfalt. Indem er die Bilder auf montageartige Weise in Beziehung zueinander setzt, demonstriert er – noch verstärkt durch den ausdrücklichen Bezug auf kontextuelle Elemente wie die Architektur, das Ausstellungsdesign und den institutionellen Rahmen –, dass die Bedeutung der Bilder stets eine vorläufige ist.

Das Theater ist für Williams immer mehr zum Maßstab geworden. Die Ausstellung Christopher Williams . MODEL: Kochgeschirre, Kinder, Viet Nam (Angepasst zum Benutzen) bei C/O Berlin verwendet die Terminologie des Theaters, um drei Räume aus früheren Ausstellungen zu reinszenieren: Räume aus dem Wiels Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Brüssel, der Galerie Nächst St. Stephan in Wien und der Frieze Art in New York, wo er einen Einzelstand hatte. Allerdings übernimmt Williams die Präsentationen nicht einfach eins zu eins in die räumlichen Gegebenheiten von C/O Berlin, sondern denkt die materielle Seite seiner Fotografien neu, zieht diese in einem anderen Format ab und rahmt sie mit anderen Materialien. In den ersten drei Räumen präsentiert Williams Adaptationen der früheren Varianten und richtet so die Aufmerksamkeit auf das Format „Ausstellung“ als einem eigenen Medium. Im vierten Raum der Ausstellung bei C/O Berlin sind Leihgaben aus den Archiven von Bertolt Brecht, Guy Debord, Harun Farocki, Peter Weiss und Edward Weston zu sehen, die den historischen Hintergrund für eine Diskussion über Anpassung, Modellierung und die Wiederverwendung existierender Bilder liefern.

Die Ausstellung präsentiert Fotografien der Genres Porträt, Stillleben und Straßenfotografie mit Sujets wie Kameraobjektiven, einem Bühnenbild, Schaufensterauslagen, einer afrikanischen Maske oder professionellen Models, die sich selbst zu Bildern inszenieren. Auch diese Fotografien werden oft auf Basis existierender Bilder oder Bildtypen angefertigt, wobei Fragmente aus unserer allgegenwärtigen Bilderwelt adaptiert und isoliert werden. Auf diese Weise rekontextualisiert hinterfragen sie die Bedingungen, unter denen unsere Kultur Bilder produziert und konsumiert.

Diese allgemeine Einführung bereitet die Bühne für ein spannungsvolles Familiendrama.

Christopher Williams (geb. 1956 in Los Angeles) arbeitet als Konzeptkünstler vorwiegend mit dem Medium der Fotografie. In den 1970er-Jahren studierte er am California Institute of the Arts bei Michael Asher, John Baldessari und Douglas Huebler. Er ist seit 2008 Professor für Fotografie an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. Zahlreiche renommierte Institutionen haben sein künstlerisches Werk in Einzelausstellungen präsentiert, u.a. Kestner Gesellschaft, Hannover (2018), La Triennale di Milano, Mailand (2017), gta Ausstellungen, ETH Zürich (2017), Whitechapel Gallery, London (2015), Art Institute of Chicago (2014/2015), Museum of Modern Art, New York (2014), Bergen Kunsthall (2014), Staatliche Kunsthalle Baden-Baden (2010) und Bonner Kunstverein (2009).

Bild Credit: Christopher Williams, Bergische Bauernscheune, Junkersholz, Leichlingen September 29, 2009, 2010, Archival Pigment Print, 50,8 x 61 cm paper, 83,5 x 94 cm framed © Christopher Williams . Courtesy Gallery Gisela Capitain, Köln und David Zwirner, New York / London / Hong Kong