You are here

Lecture + Talk

Mit Andreas Schmid, Kun Liang und Felix Hoffmann

Time 07:00 p.m.
With Andreas Schmid . Berlin-based artist, curator, and expert on contemporary art in the People’s Republic of China
Kun Liang . Photographer and friend of Ren Hang
Felix Hoffmann . Curator . C/O Berlin
Language English
Ticket 10/6 euros (exhibition ticket) . Available online (plus booking fee) and at C/O Berlin . Box office 30 min. in advance
Visiting the exhibition only possible before the event. We kindly ask holders of presale tickets to appear on time once the event starts, a later admission cannot be guaranteed.

Why is nudity such a polarizing theme in Chinese contemporary art? What was the atmosphere and environment in which Ren Hang created his photographs? How are these aspects addressed in the recent history of Chinese contemporary art? And what was it like to belong to his circle of friends?

Andreas Schmid will provide answers to these questions in a short lecture that will also touch on Chinese art of the 1990s. Following his lecture, he will talk with Kun Liang about the current situation in China, her relationship to Ren Hang, and about Ren Hang’s work.

Andreas Schmid is an artist and curator. He has been working with contemporary Chinese art and Chinese calligraphy since 1984. As a curator, he was responsible for the exhibitions China-Avantgarde (1993) at HKW Berlin, Zeitgenössische Fotokunst aus VR China (contemporary photography from the PRC) (1997) at NBK Berlin, Sitting in China (2003) at the Kestner Society in Hanover, Die 8 der Wege (2014) for Geka EV and Chinas alte Seidenstraße- ein Kaleidoskop (2019) at the Kunstverein KunstHaus Potsdam e.V..

Kun Liang is a photographer from Beijing who lives and works in Berlin.  She was part of Ren Hang's circle of friends until her move in 2016. Today, she works mainly as a photographer and videographer.

Sie sind hier

Lecture + Talk

Mit Andreas Schmid, Kun Liang und Felix Hoffmann

Uhrzeit 19:00
Mit Andreas Schmid . Künstler, Kurator und Experte für zeitgenössische Kunst in der VR China in Berlin
Kun Liang . Fotografin und Wegbegleiterin von Ren Hang
Felix Hoffmann . Kurator . C/O Berlin
Sprache Englisch
Ticket 10/6 Euro (Ausstellungsticket) . Erhältlich online (zzgl. VVK-Gebühr) und bei C/O Berlin
Besuch der Ausstellung nur vor der Veranstaltung möglich. Wir bitten Inhaber*innen von Vorverkaufskarten pünktlich zu Beginn der Veranstaltung zu erscheinen, ein späterer Einlass kann nicht garantiert werden.

Warum polarisiert Nacktheit in der chinesischen Gegenwartskunst? Wie geht die jüngere Geschichte der chinesischen Gegenwartskunst damit um? In welcher Atmosphäre, in welchem Umfeld hat Ren Hang seine Fotografien gemacht? Und wie war es zu seinem Freundeskreis zu gehören?

Andreas Schmid wird in einem kurzen Vortrag Antworten auf diese Fragestellungen geben und Bezüge zur chinesischen Kunst der 1990er Jahre herstellen. Im Anschluss spricht er mit Kun Liang über die gegenwärtige Situation in China, über ihr Verhältnis zu Ren Hang und über sein Schaffen und Wirken.

Andreas Schmid ist Künstler und Kurator. Er beschäftigt sich seit 1984 mit chinesischer Gegenwartskunst und chinesischer Kalligraphie. Er war als Kurator unter anderem für die Ausstellungen China-Avantgarde (1993) am HKW Berlin, Zeitgenössische Fotokunst aus der VR China (1997) für den NBK Berlin, Sitting in China (2003) für die Kestner Gesellschaft in Hannover, Die 8 der Wege (2014) für Geka EV und Chinas alte Seidenstraße- ein Kaleidoskop (2019) für den Kunstverein KunstHaus Potsdam e.V. verantwortlich.

Kun Liang ist Fotografin aus Peking, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Kun Liang gehörte bis zu ihrem Umzug im Jahr 2016 zum Freundeskreis von Ren Hang. Heute arbeitet sie hauptsächlich als Fotografin und Videofilmerin.