You are here


Antonioni’s Classic Film and Photography

“A truth that is only my truth is therefore not the truth.” Julio Florencio Cortázar

It is “Swinging London,” the mid-1960s. An era of pop culture and cool hedonism. Amid the bustling pace and jarring superficiality of the city, a fashion photographer named Thomas captures something with his camera—which he believes to be a murder in the park in broad daylight. But the body vanishes, followed by the supposed photographic evidence. Was the crime nothing but a figment of his imagination? His pictures are not proof of reality, just clues. But if the photographer can’t share his knowledge with others, of what use is it? Michelangelo Antonioni’s cinematic masterpiece is a criminal case without evidence, a puzzle without a solution.

Often interpreted as a pop film critique of a particular subculture, “Blow-Up” is far more than a sociocultural document in which images play a supporting role for an unfolding plot. It is a multi-layered visual reflection on photography and film as modes of mechanical representation. The camera does not merely depict reality, it brings forth a new world—one that is subjective and that cannot, in general, be localized. What is representation, what is phantasm? The world takes shape only through the subject’s perceptive faculties. Michelangelo Antonioni exposes reality and truth as products of both error and agreement—of a grand collective illusion and manipulation. We see what we want to see.

Michelangelo Antonioni made “Blow-Up” in 1966, but in our world of mass media and digital distribution, his observations on human perception and the relationship to reality seem as trenchant today as they were almost half a century ago. The formal qualities and the content of the film offer diverse starting points and themes for the exhibition that are analyzed and explored in depth through a range of media. In this exhibition, photographs, films, and video installations are presented together for the first time around seven themes that characterize Michelangelo Antonioni’s films in different ways and illustrate significant artistic positions in photography and art history—from voyeurism to social reportage and fashion photography all the way to media theory. The photographers featured in the exhibition include such important artists as David Bailey, Ron Galella, Terence Donovan, Richard Hamilton, John Hilliard, Hiroshi Sugimoto, Don McCullin, Cecil Beaton, Ian Stephenson, John Stezaker, Arthur Evans, Alicja Kwade and many more.

Works in the exhibition explore the relationship between moving pictures and static photography and their unique modes of operation. Antonioni broke with the familiar narrative patterns of film; the plot of “Blow-Up” unfolds in an apparently fragmentary way—not unlike a slide show. It is constructed almost completely out of associations, and reveals the principles of media self-reflexivity and simultaneity. The filmmaker resists bestowing the different aspects of his subject matter with any well-defined hierarchy of value—without any distinct semantic connection, elements of the trivial follow immediately upon elements of the spectacular. Generally speaking, the plot is less important than each isolated detail. In this gesture, which anticipates post-modernism, the viewer has to construct the meaning and sense—that is, also the relevance—him or herself.

In “Blow-Up,” Antonioni made intensive use of references, quotes, symbols, composition, and allusions. Numerous works in the exhibition launch a cross-sectional exploration of the artistic trends of the 1950s and 1960s, documenting the interactions between film and the art and society of that time. The exhibition also includes contemporary works that attest to the timelessness and modernity of Michelangelo Antonioni’s visual language. The exhibition has been developed and produced jointly by C/O Berlin, the Albertina in Vienna, and the Fotomuseum Winterthur.

The exhibition at C/O Berlin will be the only stop in Germany. The exhibition includes 250 photographs and clips from “Blow-Up” as well as supplementary film and video installations. To accompany the exhibition, C/O Berlin will be presenting a film series as well as a catalogue published by Hatje Cantz. C/O Berlin will also be hosting a major symposium on the theme in February 2015.

Photo: David Hemmings and Veruschka von Lehndorff in Blow-Up (Director: Michelangelo Antonioni), BFI Stills, 1966 © Tazio Secchiaroli / Neue Visionen Filmverleih GmbH / Turner Entertainment Co. – A Warner Bros Entertainment Company

Sie sind hier

Blow-Up

Antonionis Filmklassiker und die Fotografie

„Eine Wahrheit, die lediglich meine Wahrheit ist, ist somit nicht die Wahrheit.“ Julio Florencio Cortázar

Swinging London, Mitte der 1960er Jahre, Popkultur und cooler Hedonismus. In einer Welt von hektisch-schriller Oberflächlichkeit meint der Modefotograf Thomas, zufällig etwas Unfassbares mit seiner Kamera festgehalten zu haben – einen Mord im Park am hellichten Tag. Jedoch verschwindet erst die Leiche, dann seine vermeintlichen Beweisfotos. Ist das Verbrechen letztendlich nur Ergebnis seiner Einbildung? Seine fotografischen Bilder funktionieren nicht als Beleg für Realität, nur als Indiz. Wie nutzlos ist aber das Wissen des Fotografen, wenn er es nicht mit anderen teilen kann? So erweist sich Michelangelo Antonionis filmisches Meisterwerk als Kriminalfall ohne Beweise, als Puzzle ohne Lösung.

Oft als milieukritischer Popfilm interpretiert, ist „Blow-Up“ jedoch weit mehr als ein soziokulturelles Dokument, in dem die Bilder die sich entfaltende Handlung stützen. Er ist eine vielschichtige visuelle Reflexion über die mechanisch abbildenden Medien Fotografie und Film. Hier gibt die Kamera nicht nur die Realität wieder, sondern lässt in ihrer Anwendung selbst eine neue Welt entstehen – subjektiv, nicht allgemein verortbar. Was ist Abbild, was Trugbild? Erst durch seine Perzeption konstituiert sich eigentlich alles Sein. Michelangelo Antonioni entlarvt Realität und Wahrheit als Produkt von Irrtum und Einigung – also einer grandiosen gemeinschaftlichen Illusion und Manipulation. Wir sehen nur das, was wir sehen wollen.

Michelangelo Antonioni hat „Blow-Up“ 1966 produziert; sein Befund über die menschliche Wahrnehmung und sein Verhältnis zur Realität jedoch ist auch in der heutigen Welt der Massenmedien und digitalen Distribution von größter Aktualität. Inhaltlich und formal bietet der Film zahlreiche neue Ansatzpunkte und Themen, die in der Ausstellung analysiert und durch unterschiedliche Medien verdeutlicht werden. Erstmals werden in Form von sieben thematischen Schwerpunkten Fotografien, Filme und Videoinstallationen gezeigt, die sich in verschiedener Hinsicht als charakteristisch für Michelangelo Antonionis Film erweisen und darüber hinaus wesentliche künstlerische Positionen der Foto- und Kunstgeschichte verdeutlichen – von Voyeurismus über Sozialreportage und Modefotografie bis hin zu Medienreflexion. Unter den ausgestellten Fotografen finden sich dementsprechend so wesentliche Künstler wie David Bailey, Ron Galella, Terence Donovan, Richard Hamilton, John Hilliard, Hiroshi Sugimoto, Don McCullin, Cecil Beaton, Ian Stephenson, John Stezaker, Arthur Evans, Alicja Kwade u.v.m.

Auch wird anhand ausgewählter Werke das Verhältnis von bewegtem Film und statischer Fotografie und und deren unterschiedliche Wirkungsweisen dargestellt. Denn Michelangelo Antonioni bricht mit den vertrauten narrativen Mustern des Films, die Handlung von „Blow-Up“ scheint sich fragmentarisch zu entwickeln – wie bei einer Dia-Show. So setzt sie sich fast assoziativ zusammen und offenbart die Prinzipien medialer Selbstreflexivität und Gleichzeitigkeit. Zudem verzichtet der Regisseur auf eine eindeutige inhaltliche Gewichtung – ohne klare semantische Verbindung folgt Triviliales unmittelbar Spektakulärem. Insgesamt ist nicht der Plot wichtig, sondern jedes einzelne Detail. In dieser antizipierten Postmodernität muss der Betrachter Bedeutung und Sinnhaftigkeit, also Relevanz, selbst konstruieren.

In „Blow-Up“ kommuniziert Michelangelo Antonioni stark über Referenzen, Zitate, Sympole, Bild-Kompositionen und Anspielungen. Zahlreiche Werke der Ausstellung ermöglichen einen pointierten Querschnitt durch unterschiedliche künstlerische Strömungen der 1950er- und 1960er Jahre und dokumentieren die Wechselwirkung von Film und damaliger Kunst und Gesellschaft. Zusätzlich werden auch zeitgenössische Arbeiten präsentiert, die die Zeitlosigkeit und Modernität von Michelangelo Antonionis Bildsprache demonstrieren.

Die Ausstellung wurde von C/O Berlin, der Albertina Wien und dem Fotomuseum Winterthur gemeinsam entwickelte und produziert. C/O Berlin zeigt sie als einzige Station in Deutschland. Die Ausstellung umfasst ca. 250 Fotografien und Ausschnitte aus „Blow-Up“ sowie ergänzende Film- und Videoinstallationen. Begleitet wird die Ausstellungen durch ein Filmprogramm sowie einen Katalog, der im Verlag Hatje Cantz erschienen ist. Im Februar 2015 veranstaltet C/O Berlin ein umfangreiches Symposium.

Foto: David Hemmings und Veruschka von Lehndorff in Blow-Up (Regie: Michelangelo Antonioni), BFI Stills, 1966 © Tazio Secchiaroli / Neue Visionen Filmverleih GmbH / Turner Entertainment Co. – A Warner Bros Entertainment Company