You are here

BERLIN 1966-70

Book Presentation & Talk

With Jens Dobler . Historian and Director of the Police Historical Collection Berlin, Uta Grundman . Art Historikerin and Psychologist,  Arwed Messmer . Photographer
Moderator Felix Hoffmann . Chief Curator C/O Berlin Foundation
Begin 07:30 p.m.
Ticket 10 Euro . reduced 6 Euro (incl. exhibtion) . Available online (plus booking fee) and at C/O Berlin

West Berlin, 1968. Demonstrations by young students and activists. Clashes with police. Street fighting. Protests against the war in Vietnam. After occupying the intersections around Zoo Station and pulling down the US flag, the demonstrators threw eggs at the façade of the Amerika Haus, the focal point of the youth revolt. The myriad pictures taken of these protests are etched deep into our collective visual memory. But another reality exists alongside these vivid, symbol-laden pictures. In his recently published work "Berlin 1966-70", Arwed Messmer presents a selection of documentary photographs culled from the archives of the Police Historical Collection Berlin. Messmer’s photo book provides a different view and previously unseen perspectives on these historic events. In a discussion moderated by Felix Hoffmann the context of the current exhibition at C/O Berlin, The Last Image . Photography and Death, Jens Dobler, Uta Grundmann, and Arwed Messmer, will discuss how images of death are represented and portrayed in the media and in journalistic practice, and the new forms of representation and practice that emerged during these historically significant years.

Jens Dobler studied education, psychology, and contemporary history at TU Berlin and holds a doctorate in history. He worked as director of the archive and library at Berlin’s Gay Museum for five years. For the last five years, he has served as the director of the Police Historical Collection at the Berlin Police Headquarters. His work there focuses on the history of police and homosexuality.

Uta Grundman is an art historian and psychologist. She studied theology, art history, journalism, and psychology in Leipzig and Berlin. She is currently working as a psychologist at the International Psychoanalytic University, where she is completing a doctoral degree on antisemitism and ambivalence.
Felix Hoffmann studied art history, history, and philosophy in Vienna, and art and cultural studies in Berlin. As part of the “Museum Curators for Photography” program of the Alfried Krupp von Bohlen and Halbach Foundation, he worked at the Fotomuseum Munich, the Kupferstich-Kabinett in Dresden, and the Museum Folkwang in Essen. He has curated diverse international exhibitions and published numerous research publications and exhibition catalogs. He has been chief curator at the C/O Berlin Foundation since 2005.

Arwed Messmer is a photographer whose work in the 1990s centered around the changes taking place in Berlin. Since 2006, he has focused increasingly on collections of photographs from archives that have lost their original documentary function. He has since produced wide-ranging exhibitions and publications on East Berlin in the 1950s, on the early Berlin Wall, and on the archives of the state security services. He has received numerous awards and grants for his work, including the 2014 Zeitgenössische Deutsche Fotografie.

Sie sind hier

BERLIN 1966–70. Protest/Gewalt/Bericht und die Fotografie

Buchpräsentation & Gespräch

Mit Jens Dobler . Historiker und Leiter der Polizeihistorischen Sammlung im Polizeipräsidium Berlin, Uta Grundman . Kunsthistorikerin und Psychologin, Arwed Messmer . Fotograf
Moderation Felix Hoffmann . Hauptkurator C/O Berlin Foundation
Beginn 19:30 Uhr
Ticket 10 Euro . ermäßigt 6 Euro (inkl. Ausstellung) . Erhältlich online (zzgl. VVK-Gebühr) und bei C/O Berlin an der Abendkasse.

West-Berlin, 1968. Demonstrationen junger Student*innen und Aktivist*innen. Auseinandersetzungen mit der Polizei. Straßenkämpfe. Proteste gegen den Vietnam-Krieg. Nach Besetzung der Verkehrskreuzungen um den Bahnhof Zoo und der Einholung der US-Flagge wurde die Fassade des Amerika Haus mit Eiern beworfen – Hauptschauplatz der Jugendrevolte. Die Bilder dieser Unruhen gibt es massenhaft. Sie haben das kollektive und visuelle Gedächtnis geprägt. Neben diesen symbolträchtigen Bildern gibt es auch noch eine andere Wirklichkeit. Berlin 1966-70 ist die jüngst veröffentlichte Arbeit von Arwed Messmer und versammelt dokumentarische Aufnahmen aus dem Bildkonvolut der Polizeihistorischen Sammlung Berlin. Messmers Bildband gewährt erstmals einen anderen Blick und neue Perspektiven auf die historischen Geschehnisse. Im Kontext der aktuellen Ausstellung Das letzte Bild . Fotografie und Tod bei C/O Berlin wird unter der Moderation von Felix Hoffmann gemeinsam mit Jens Dobler, Arwed Messmer und Uta Grundmann über die mediale Vermittlung und journalistische Praxis von Totenbildern gesprochen, die in diesen historisch bedeutenden Jahren neue Formen annahmen.

Jens Dobler (*1965) ist promovierter Historiker, studierte Erziehungswissenschaft, Psychologie und Neuere Geschichte an der TU Berlin. Er war fünf Jahre lang Archiv- und Bibliotheksleiter im Schwulen Museum. Seit drei Jahren ist Dobler Leiter der Polizeihistorischen Sammlung im Polizeipräsidium Berlin mit den Schwerpunktthemen Polizei- und Homosexualitätsgeschichte.

Uta Grundman ist Kunsthistorikerin und Psychologin, studierte Theologie, Kunstgeschichte, Publizistik und Psychologie in Leipzig und Berlin. Derzeit arbeitet sie als Psychologin an der International Psychoanalytic University, wo sie zum Thema Antisemitismus und Ambivalenz promoviert.

Felix Hoffmann (*1972) studierte Kunstgeschichte und Kulturwissenschaften in Wien und Berlin. Im Rahmen des Programms „Museumskuratoren für Fotografie“ der Krupp-Stiftung arbeitete er am Fotomuseum in München, dem Kupferstich-Kabinett Dresden und dem Museum Folkwang in Essen. Er hat zahlreiche internationale Ausstellungen kuratiert sowie wissenschaftliche Aufsätze und Bücher publiziert. Seit 2005 ist er Hauptkurator der C/O Berlin Foundation.

Arwed Messmer (*1964) ist Fotograf und widmete sich in den 1990er-Jahre den Veränderungen Berlins. Seit 2006 setzt er sich zunehmend mit Bildsammlungen aus Archiven auseinander, die ihre ursprüngliche dokumentarische Funktion verloren haben. Seitdem sind umfangreiche Ausstellungen und Publikationen zum Ost­Berlin der 1950er-Jahre, zur frühen Berliner Mauer und zu den Archiven der Staatssicherheit entstanden. Für sein Werk erhielt er zahlreiche Preise und Stipendien, u.a. das Stipendium Zeitgenössische Deutsche Fotografie (2014). Seine aktuelle Arbeit zur RAF wurde zuletzt 2017 im Museum Folkwang präsentiert. Arwed Messmer lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.