You are here

Back to the Future

The 19th Century in the 21st Century

Opening on 09/28/2018 . 07:00 p.m.

Photogravures of the moon’s surface, botanical studies as blue cyanotypes, and Woodburytypes of portraits: the exhibition showcases the work of contemporary artists who are using the techniques, methods, and pro­cesses of the 19th century photography. Taking inspiration from that early photography, the artists work with light, photosensitive material, photographic emul­sion, and chemical processes. These techniques are taken an often-surprising step further as the artists also incorporate new technologies such as computers and 3D printers. Actually, photography today finds itself in similar conditions to the nineteenth century, when the medium had not yet been concretized and as such remained open for experimentation. Astronomers, mathematicians, physicians, and chemists of the day had recognized the potential of photography and set about researching it with great curiosity and an open mind. Today’s desire to explore the possibilities of photography is in no way restricted with regard to technique, process, and material. The exhibition pairs these works with outstanding pieces from the nineteenth century, creating a dialogue that transcends the bare facts of parallels and correlations by focusing on meaningful associations. This open-minded approach reflects the spirit of visual freedom that unites the pioneers of the nineteenth century and their modern-day counterparts.

The exhibition Back to the Future . The 19th Century in the 21st Century is initiated by Foam Fotografiemuseum Amsterdam in collaboration with C/O Berlin and was curated by Kim Knoppers and Ann-Christin Bertrand.

The exhibition features works by artists including Anna Atkins (GB), Sylvia Ballhause (DE), Karl Bloßfeldt (DE), Bownik (PL), Matthew Brandt (US), Alfred Brothers (GB), Alan Butler (IR), Henry Frères (FR), S.W. Burham (US), William England (SCT), Sam Falls (US), Spiros Hadjidjanos (GR), Thomas Hauser (FR), Nicolai Howalt (DK), Adam Jeppesen (DK), Thomas Mailaender (FR), Douglas Mandry (CH), James Nasmyth (GB-SCT), Taiyo Onorato & Nico Krebs (CH), Johan Österholm (SE), Jaya Pelupessy & Felix van Dam (NL), Helena Petersen (DE), Lisa Oppenheim (US), Warren de la Rue (GB), Lewis M. Rutherford (US), Nils Strindberg (SE), Stephen Thompson (GB), Simon van Til (NL) and Witho Worms (NL).

 

 

Sam Falls, o.T. (Zeichnung einer Palme), Venedig, 2014. Foto: Stefan Altenburger Photography

Sie sind hier

Back to the Future

The 19th Century in the 21st Century

Eröffnung: 28.09.2018 . 19:00 Uhr

Die Mondoberfläche als Fotogravüre, Pflanzenstudien als blaue Cyanotypien oder Porträts als Woodburytypie – die Ausstellung Back to the Future . The 19th Century in the 21st Century präsentiert Werke zeitgenössischer Künstler*innen, die erneut Techniken, Methoden und Prozesse aus der Fotografie des 19. Jahrhunderts einsetzen. Inspiriert von jener frühen Fotografie arbeiten die Künstler*innen mit Licht, fotosensitiven Bildträgern, Fotoemulsion und chemischen Verfahren, entwickeln diese auf oft überraschende Weise weiter und binden auch neue Technologien wie Computer und 3D-Drucker ein. Tatsächlich ähneln die aktuellen Bedingungen der Fotografie in vielfacher Hinsicht jenen im 19. Jahrhundert, als das Medium noch nicht festgelegt und somit offen für Experimente war. Damals hatten Astronomen, Mathematiker, Mediziner und Chemiker das Potential der Fotografie erkannt und sie mit großer Neugierde und Offenheit erforscht. Heute sind dem fotografischen Erkundungsdrang hinsichtlich Technik, Verfahren und Material keine Grenzen gesetzt. In der Ausstellung treten die vielfältigen und hybriden Werke zeitgenössischer Künstler*innen in den Dialog mit herausragenden Werken der Fotopioniere aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, wobei es nicht um faktisch belegbare Parallelen und Zusammenhänge geht, sondern um bedeutungsvolle Assoziationen. Der offene Ansatz spiegelt den Geist der visuellen Freiheit wieder, der die Pioniere des 19. Jahrhunderts mit den zeitgenössischen Künstler*innen verbindet. 

Die Ausstellung Back to the Future . The 19th Century in the 21st Century ist eine Initiative des Foam Fotografiemuseum Amsterdam in Zusammenarbeit mit C/O Berlin und wurde von Kim Knoppers und Ann-Christin Bertrand kuratiert.

Die Schau zeigt Werke u.a. von Anna Atkins (GB), Sylvia Ballhause (DE), Karl Bloßfeldt (DE), Bownik (PL), Matthew Brandt (US), Alfred Brothers (GB), Alan Butler (IR), Henry Frères (FR), S.W. Burham (US), William England (SCT), Sam Falls (US), Spiros Hadjidjanos (GR), Thomas Hauser (FR), Nicolai Howalt (DK), Adam Jeppesen (DK), Thomas Mailaender (FR), Douglas Mandry (CH), James Nasmyth (GB-SCT), Taiyo Onorato & Nico Krebs (CH), Johan Österholm (SE), Jaya Pelupessy & Felix van Dam (NL), Helena Petersen (DE), Lisa Oppenheim (US), Warren de la Rue (GB), Lewis M. Rutherford (US), Nils Strindberg (SE), Stephen Thompson (GB), Simon van Til (NL) und Witho Worms (NL).