You are here

Julia Benz . Antonymdimension I

Artistic Intervention 2020

“Colors are emotions for me. They shock and fascinate me at the same time. They constantly challenge me to mediate between the dominance of color and the sensuality of painting.” Julia Benz

Vivid, radiant colors and dynamic, abstract forms combine with graphic elements and diverse materials in Julia Benz’s room-spanning installation Antonymdimension I, inviting the viewer to discover a changing interplay of perspectives and image levels.

Created by the artist exclusively for C/O Berlin and installed in the café in the Amerika Haus, this new work follows its own intuitive, associative rhythm—one very different from the rhythm of the street. Using acrylic paint, ink, and spray cans, Benz combines, superimposes, complements, and dissolves graphic and painterly elements to create a unique visual tension. The surfaces of the resulting work are reminiscent of the aesthetics of street art, but classical painting is also clearly palpable as the artist’s frame of reference and original artistic medium. Plexiglas panels painted on both sides and mounted over the wall painting reflect the interior and guests of the café, and open the installation up into three-dimensional space. Depending on the viewer’s perspective, the picture levels shift and create varying perceptions.

Following Christian Jankowski (2019), Gregor Hildebrandt (2018), Brigitte Waldach (2017), Karsten Konrad (2016), and Michail Pirgelis (2015), Julia Benz is the sixth artist to be featured as part of C/O Berlin’s expanded spatial and exhibition concept Artistic Intervention at the Amerika Haus.

Julia Benz (b. 1985) studied painting at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf and at the Berlin University of the Arts and completed her studies as a master student of Burkhard Held. With her expressive directness, she represents a new generation of painters who reject strict, rational formalism in art and theoretical contextualization. Benz has shown her work in numerous group and solo exhibitions, most recently Out of Mind Just in Time in Vienna (2019) and Between the Lines in Cologne (2019). She has also carried out artistic projects in private and public spaces for institutions including the Goethe Institute in Helsinki, Finland, and the Canadian Embassy in Khartoum, Sudan. Julia Benz lives and works in Berlin.

Sie sind hier

Julia Benz . Antonymdimension I

Artistic Intervention 2020

„Farben sind für mich Emotionen. Sie schockieren und faszinieren mich zugleich. Sie fordern mich permanent heraus, zwischen der Dominanz der Farben und der Sinnlichkeit der Malerei zu vermitteln.“ Julia Benz

Starke und strahlende Farben, dynamisch-abstrakte Formen in Kombination mit grafischen Elementen und der Verwendung unterschiedlichster Materialien: Die raumfüllende Installation Antonymdimension I von Julia Benz lädt ein zum Entdecken eines wechselvollen Spiels von Perspektiven und Bildebenen.'

Speziell für C/O Berlin hat die Künstlerin ein neues Werk für das Café im Amerika Haus geschaffen, das einem intuitiv-assoziativem und ganz anderem Rhythmus als dem der Straße folgt. Mit Acrylfarben, Tusche und Spraydose werden grafische und malerische Elemente miteinander verbunden, ergänzt, überlagert oder aufgelöst, wodurch ein besonderes Spannungsfeld entsteht. Die so gestalteten Flächen erinnern an die Ästhetik der Streetart, wobei die klassische Malerei als Referenzraum und ursprüngliches Medium von Benz deutlich zu erkennen bleibt. Beidseitig bemalte und über der Wandmalerei montierte Plexiglasplatten spiegeln die Einrichtung des Cafés und dessen Gäste und öffnen die Installation ins Dreidimensionale. Je nach Perspektive der Betrachter*innen verschieben sich die Bildebenen und erzeugen so unterschiedliche Wahrnehmungen.

Die Präsentation von Julia Benz ist nach Christian Jankowski (2019), Gregor Hildebrandt (2018), Brigitte Waldach (2017), Karsten Konrad (2016) und Michail Pirgelis (2015) die sechste künstlerische Position im Rahmen des erweiterten Raum- und Ausstellungskonzeptes Artistic Intervention von C/O Berlin im Amerika Haus.

Julia Benz (*1985) studierte Malerei an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf sowie an der Universität der Künste Berlin und hat ihr Studium als Meisterschülerin bei Burkhard Held abgeschlossen. Mit ihrer expressiven Direktheit vertritt sie eine neue Generation von Maler*innen, die sich einem streng-rationalen Formalismus in der Kunst und einer theoretischen Kontextualisierung verweigern. Benz zeigt ihre Arbeiten in zahlreichen Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen, zuletzt Out of Mind. Just in Time in Wien (2019) und Between the Lines in Köln (2019). Außerdem realisiert sie künstlerische Projekte im privaten und öffentlichen Raum, unter anderem für das Goethe-Institut in Helsinki, Finnland, oder die Kanadische Botschaft in Khartoum, Sudan. Julia Benz lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.