You are here

Talents 40 . play loud

Karolin Back / Svenja Paulsen

“Stacking time in layers, putting it together in unfamiliar ways creates spaces for something new to emerge… I want to capture these interstices.” Karolin Back

Mountains, clouds, and oceans: they’re the subject of thousands of pictures on postcards, in photo albums, and on the Internet. This is precisely the reason Karolin Back uses them as the starting point for her work. By carefully examining, dissecting, and rearranging these pictures, she creates images that have almost nothing to do with their original real-life subject matter. The resulting works offer altogether new “projection screens” that evoke confusion and force the viewer to reflect and question familiar ways of seeing, thereby playfully breaking perceptual patterns.

In the installation What is a second when the world stands beside it?, Karolin Back addresses the tension between the static moment and the passage of time. Her point of departure is an image of the Matterhorn, perhaps the most famous peak in the Alps. But the work is not about the Matterhorn itself; nor does it document a trip there—rather, it is about the representation of time. By superimposing photography and video, the artist stacks distinct temporal layers. The moment is frozen in photography, forming an antithesis to the passage of time in film. By linking the two components—stasis and change—the artist creates new images dealing with temporal interstices and challenging and deconstructing familiar structures of representation.

While we can still make out the picture of a mountain in the Matterhorn installation, it is almost impossible to determine what the original subject matter was for the images in the series Shut up and play. In multilayered work processes, the artist folds, tears, wads up, or shreds the original photographic material, photographs it again, reprints the resulting images, and starts the entire process again. In this way, she creates photographic objects that are returned to their original flat form—pictures that are sculptural and spatial, but that still render the two-dimensional surface of the image visually tangible. In this way, the artist navigates between photography and reality, abstraction and the concrete object.

C/O Berlin is presenting the work of Karolin Back in the context of the exhibition Extended Photography. She is an artist whose work reflects on the expansion of the photographic medium and looks beyond photographic reality to illuminate temporal perception and media intervention.

Karolin Back (b. 1980) lives and works in Stuttgart. She completed a degree in art at the Offenbach University of Art and Design in 2013. Prior to that, she worked as a freelance photographer and photographer’s assistant in Hamburg, completed an apprenticeship in carpentry, and studied design for the trade sector. She has been the recipient of numerous grants and awards, including gute aussichten. junge deutsche fotografie (2014/15) and the Deutsche Börse und HfG Fotoförderpreis (2012). Her works have been shown in numerous solo and group exhibitions since 2008, in cities including Frankfurt, Hamburg, Berlin, New York, Mexico City, Nicosia, and Tallinn.

Svenja Paulsen (b. 1988) lives and works in London and Berlin. She studied social sciences and media cultural analysis in Berlin and Düsseldorf and completed training as a photo editor at the Ostkreuzschule für Fotografie in Berlin. She is currently a fellowship holder in the “Museum Curators for Photography” program of the Alfried Krupp von Bohlen and Halbach Foundation at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London.

Sie sind hier

Talents 40 . play loud

Karolin Back / Svenja Paulsen

„Die Zeit zu schichten, sie anders zusammenzusetzen, als wir es gewohnt sind, lässt etwas Neues entstehen... Ich möchte diese Zwischenräume festhalten.“
Karolin Back
     
Berge, Wolken und Meer – diese Motive haben wir schon tausendfach auf Postkarten, in Fotoalben oder im Internet gesehen. Gerade deshalb verwendet Karolin Back genau diese Motive als Ausgangsmaterial ihrer Arbeiten. Durch anschließendes genaues Studieren, Sezieren und neu Zusammensetzen schafft sie Bilder, die kaum mehr etwas von ihrem ursprünglichen Wirklichkeitsbezug erkennen lassen. Stattdessen bieten sie vollkommen neue Projektionsflächen, die bewusst Irritation erzeugen und den Betrachter auf sich selbst zurückwerfen, damit gewohnte Wahrnehmungsmuster hinterfragt und spielerisch durchbrochen werden können.
 
In der Installation Was ist eine Sekunde, wenn neben ihr die Welt steht? beschäftigt Karolin Back sich mit der Spannung zwischen dem fixierten Moment und dem Vergehen der Zeit. Ausgangspunkt bildet eine Abbildung des Matterhorns, dem wohl bekanntesten Gipfel der Alpen. Jedoch geht es nicht um das Matterhorn selbst oder die Dokumentation der Reise dorthin, sondern vielmehr um die Darstellung von Zeit. Durch Überlagerung von Fotografie und Video schichtet die Künstlerin verschiedene Zeitebenen übereinander – die Fotografie friert den Moment ein und bildet damit den Gegenpol zum Verlauf der Zeit im Film. Genau in der Verbindung dieser beiden Komponenten von Stillstand und Veränderung schafft die Künstlerin damit ein neues Bild, welches das zeitliche 'Dazwischen' thematisiert und gewohnte Darstellungsstrukturen analysiert und demontiert.

Während die Installation des Matterhorns durch die Überlagerung von bewegtem und unbewegtem Bild das Motiv des Berges noch erahnen lässt, können wir den Ursprung des Bildgegenstandes in der Serie Shut up and play kaum mehr zurückverfolgen. In mehrschichtigen Arbeitsprozessen faltet, schreddert, zerknüllt oder zerreißt die Künstlerin das fotografische Ausgangsmaterial, fotografiert es erneut ab, druckt das dadurch entstandene Motiv erneut aus – und beginnt den gesamten Prozess wieder von vorne. Auf diese Weise entstehen fotografische Objekte, die anschließend zurück in die Fläche gebracht werden und damit Bilder schaffen, die skulptural und räumlich, aber dennoch nur auf der zweidimensionalen Bildfläche visuell greifbar sind. So operiert die Künstlerin zwischen Fotografie und Wirklichkeit, Abstraktion und konkretem Gegenstand.

C/O Berlin präsentiert mit Karolin Back eine Künstlerin, die im Rahmen der Themenstellung Extended Photography über die Erweiterung des Mediums reflektiert und auf einzigartige Weise über die fotografische Wirklichkeit hinaus die zeitliche Wahrnehmung und mediale Vermittlung beleuchtet.
 
Karolin Back, geboren 1980, lebt und arbeitet in Stuttgart. Sie studierte bis 2013 Kunst an der Hochschule für Gestaltung in Offenbach am Main. Davor arbeitete sie als freie Fotografin und Fotoassistentin in Hamburg, absolvierte eine Tischlerlehre und einen Werkstudiengang zur Gestalterin im Handwerk. Sie erhielt mehrere Stipendien und Preise, unter anderem gute aussichten. junge deutsche fotografie (2014/15) und den Deutsche Börse und HfG Fotoförderpreis (2012). Seit 2008 waren die Arbeiten von Karolin Back in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen unter anderem in Frankfurt, Hamburg, Berlin, New York, Mexiko City, Nicosia und Tallinn zu sehen.
 
Svenja Paulsen, geboren 1988, lebt in London und Berlin. Sie studierte Sozialwissenschaften und Medienkulturanalyse in Berlin und Düsseldorf und absolvierte eine Ausbildung zur Bildredakteurin an der Ostkreuzschule für Fotografie in Berlin. Derzeit ist sie als Stipendiatin im Programm „Museumskuratoren für Fotografie“ der Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung am Victoria and Albert Museum in London tätig.