You are here

Magnum . Contact Sheets

The Photographers' Choice

“Contact sheets are mostly a waste of money. Because it is a waste of money, I love them.” Leonard Freed

The decisive moment – in photography this determines everything. It is a synthesis between knowledge, sensitivity, technology, form, coincidence and pure intuition. When all these elements come together, such strong, unique images are created that they transcend the everyday and reveal something of the essence of life. However, what is the crucial factor that turns particular photographs into icons, engraining them into our collective memory? What happened shortly before, what followed subsequently? The contact sheet documents much more than the decisive moment. It provides an intimate insight into the working process of the act of photographing. The artist’s sequences of images follow the traces of movement through the space and also testify to photography’s goal of presenting reality in a way that is transparent.

At the same time, showing this raw material means absolutely breaking a taboo. This medium is not usually intended for publication, remaining in the protected space of the studio or photo workshop as an intermediate product. The contact sheet is first and foremost the photographer’s logbook, a decision-making aid for the selection and indexing of subsequent negative archives. Yet at the same time it is more than an artistic sketchbook; it shows the failed steps taken en route to the end product with all its errors, blunders, blind alleys – and lucky coincidences. Here, each twist and turn and every decision has been recorded. With this complete transparency and exposure of his working methods, the photographer makes himself vulnerable. He risks breaking the aura of the single image and disenchanting the creative process. Hence when looking at the contact sheet, the viewers become fascinated. On the one hand because they can participate directly in the process, looking over the artist’s shoulder, and on the other hand because they are doing something forbidden – like looking at someone else’s diary or into their wardrobe.

In the light of this, the rare insight the legendary photo agency Magnum provides with this exhibition is even bolder. It includes more than 100 contact sheets from seven decades by the most renowned photographers worldwide – ranging from Robert Capa, Henri Cartier-Bresson, David „Chim“ Seymour, Werner Bischof, George Rodger and Elliott Erwitt, o Inge Morath, René Burri, Eve Arnold, Leonard Freed, Thomas Hoepker, Josef Koudelka und Gilles Peress, Martine Franck, Martin Parr, Jim Goldberg, Trent Parke, Jonas Bendiksen, Bruno Barbey, Paolo Pellegrin and Alec Soth.

The exhibition shows a chronological sequence of passionately committed reportage from the Second World War, street scenarios from the Prague Spring, icons such as Che Guevara, Mohammed Ali and Malcom X, the Balkan Wars and Bloody Sunday, hot spot Middle East, portraits of Japanese, Brazilian and British society, as well as many more historical events worldwide. By means of this unique combination of contact sheets, three different levels are visible in the exhibition: The respective political-sociological contents of the photographs themselves, the general history of photojournalism, as well as the history of the origins of each of the photos.

All of the analogue image formats are included in the compilation put together by Magnum – from the standard 35mm format to panorama shots or large format photos in black-and-white or colour. The comments and markings made by photographers or photo editors are often visible, showing the best motifs in the series or determining the precise detail of a photo.

Meanwhile, the contact sheet has become a relict of a technology that is now obsolete. The working processes and formats have fundamentally changed through digitalization. As a consequence of this dematerialization, the contact sheet is merely an archival phenomenon, yet at the same time it has come more and more into focus in terms of content, becoming an artefact itself. It symbolizes an autonomous genre with close links to film, narration and traditional photojournalism. Hence this exhibition by Magnum is a tribute to the analogue work and the authenticity of the medium of photography – as well as the swan song for a lost art form.

Sponsored by
Deutsche Börse Group

In cooperation with
Magnum Photos . Forte di bard | valle d'aosta . Schirmer/Mosel . MdF Berlin

Sie sind hier

Magnum . Contact Sheets

The Photographer‘s Choice

Der entscheidende Augenblick – in der Fotografie ist dieser alles bestimmend. Er ist eine Synthese aus Wissen, Sensibilität, Technik, Form, Zufall und purer Intuition. Wenn all diese Elemente zusammentreffen, entstehen so starke, einzigartige Bilder, dass sie über das Alltägliche hinausgehen und etwas vom Wesen des Lebens enthüllen. Was jedoch ist ausschlaggebend dafür, dass bestimmte Fotografien zu Ikonen werden und sich ins kollektive Gedächtnis brennen? Was geschah kurz vorher, was folgte im Anschluss? Der Kontaktbogen dokumentiert weit mehr als die Entstehung des entscheidenden Moments. Er gibt einen intimen Einblick in den Arbeitsprozess des Fotografierens. Seine Bildsequenzen zeichnen die Spur einer Bewegung durch den Raum nach und zeugen zugleich vom Anspruch der Fotografie auf eine transparente Darstellung der Wirklichkeit.

Gleichzeitig ist die Veröffentlichung dieses Rohmaterials ein absoluter Tabubruch. Denn die Publikation dieses Mediums ist meist nicht vorgesehen und bleibt als Zwischenprodukt im geschützten Raum des Ateliers oder der Fotowerkstatt. Der Kontaktbogen ist in erster Linie das Logbuch des Fotografen, eine Entscheidungshilfe bei der Auswahl und der Index von späteren Negativarchiven. Gleichzeitig ist er jedoch mehr als ein künstlerisches Skizzenbuch; er zeigt die misslungenen Schritte auf dem Weg zum Endprodukt mit all seinen Irrtümern, Fehltritten, Sackgassen – und glücklichen Fügungen. Hier ist jede Drehung und Wendung, jede Entscheidung verzeichnet. Mit dieser totalen Transparenz und Entblößung seiner Arbeitsmethode macht sich der Fotograf angreifbar. Er riskiert, die Aura des Einzelbildes zu brechen und den kreativen Prozess zu entzaubern. So entsteht auch beim Betrachten des Kontaktbogens die Faszination, einerseits unmittelbar am Geschehen teilzunehmen und dem Fotografen über die Schulter zu sehen, andererseits damit etwas Verbotenes zu tun – wie in ein fremdes Tagebuch oder einen fremden Kleiderschrank zu blicken.

Umso mutiger ist daher der seltene Einblick, den die legendäre Fotoagentur Magnum mit dieser Ausstellung gewährt. Sie umfasst aus sieben Jahrzehnten über 100 Kontaktbögen der renommiertesten Fotografen weltweit – von Robert Capa, Henri Cartier-Bresson, David (Chim) Seymour, Werner Bischof, George Rodger und Elliott Erwitt, über Inge Morath, René Burri, Eve Arnold, Leonard Freed, Thomas Hoepker, Josef Koudelka und Gilles Peress bis hin zu Martine Franck, Martin Parr, Jim Goldberg, Trent Parke, Jonas Bendiksen, Bruno Barbey, Paolo Pellegrin und Alec Soth.

In chronologischer Reihenfolge zeigt die Ausstellung leidenschaftlich engagierte Reportagen aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, Straßenszenen des Prager Frühlings, Ikonen wie Che Guevara, Mohammed Ali und Malcom X, Balkankrieg und Blutigen Sonntag, Brennpunkt Nahost, Porträts der japanischen, brasilianischen und britischen Gesellschaft sowie zahlreiche, weltweit historische Ereignisse mehr. Anhand dieser einzigartigen Zusammenstellung der Kontaktbögen werden in der Ausstellung drei unterschiedliche Ebenen sichtbar: Die jeweiligen politisch-sozialen Inhalte der Fotografien an sich, die allgemeine Historie der Reportagefotografie sowie die Entstehungsgeschichte der einzelnen Bilder.

Sämtliche analogen Bildformate sind in der Zusammenstellung von Magnum enthalten – vom Standardkleinbild über Panorama-Aufnahmen bis hin zum Großformat in Schwarz-Weiß und Farbe. Oft sind die Kommentare und Markierungen der Fotografen oder Bildredakteure sichtbar, die das beste Motive der Serie oder den exakten Ausschnitt eines Fotos bestimmen.
Der Kontaktbogen ist mittlerweile das Relikt einer Technologie, die heutzutage obsolet ist. Mit der Digitalisierung haben sich die Arbeitsprozesse und -formate grundlegend geändert. Als Folge dieser Entmaterialisierung ist der Kontaktbogen nur noch ein Phänomen der Archivierung, rückt jedoch gleichzeitig verstärkt inhaltlich in den Fokus und wird selbst zum Artefakt. Denn er symbolisiert ein eigenes Genre mit enger Verbindung zum Film, zur Narration und zur traditionellen Fotoreportage. So ist diese Ausstellung von Magnum eine Hommage an die analoge Arbeit und an die Authentizität des Mediums Fotografie – oder auch der Abgesang auf eine verlorene Kunstform.

Sponsored by
Deutsche Börse Group

In cooperation with
Magnum Photos . Forte di bard | valle d'aosta . Schirmer/Mosel . MdF Berlin