You are here

Johan Rosenmunthe . Tectonic Crystal Healing

Book presentation and Performance

Stones transcend human life and experience. They follow a time scale that is contrary to that of humans, exist on other planets and occasionally fall from the sky. Since time immemorial stones have been of great interest for art and philosophy as they are compelling objects with an alchemistic appeal.

The photo book “Tectonic” is an unusual exploration, which has its starting point in Johan Rosenmunthe’s fascination for the power of stones, their symbolism and perceptible healing qualities, for their atavistic beauty, weight, surface and age. The publication is the culmination of his lifelong study – here every photograph is a new, artistic analysis from a geological, nostalgic or scientific perspective. It is an idiosyncratic analysis without questions as no answers can be found.

After the Tate Modern und der LA Art Book Fair, Johan Rosenmunthe will present his publication for the first time in Germany – in a very unorthodox way.
“Tectonic Crystal Healing” can be perceived as being somewhere between interactive performance and sculpture. The book was published in 2014 at “Self Publish, Be Happy” in London.

Johan Rosenmunthe, born in 1982 in Aarhus, was trained at Fatamorgana, the Danish school for art photography, and studied Humanities at Roskilde University. He is co-founder of the curatorial collective and publishing house “Lodret Vandret”, the exhibition venue “New Shelter Plan” and the art book festival “One Thousand Books”. Johan Rosenmunthe lives and works in Copenhagen.

Publication 128 pages, 84 84 colour illustrations Hardcover Lithography, published at SPBH Edition, edition 1000 copies
Price 54 Euros
Begin 4 pm
Place C/O Berlin . Amerika Haus . Hardenbergstraße 22–24 . 10623 Berlin

Sie sind hier

Johan Rosenmunthe . Tectonic Crystal Healing

Buchvorstellung und Performance

Steine transzendieren humanes Leben und Erfahrungen. Sie haben eine dem Menschlichen konträre Zeitskala, existieren auf anderen Planeten und fallen gelegentlich vom Himmel. Seit jeher sind Steine für Kunst und Philosophie von größtem Interesse, da sie überwältigende Objekte mit alchemistischer Anziehungskraft sind.

Das Fotobuch „Tectonic“ ist eine ungewöhnliche Untersuchung, deren Ausgangpunkt die Faszination Johan Rosenmunthes für die Kraft der Steine, ihre Symbolik und wahrnehmbaren Heilkräfte, für ihre atavistische Schönheit, Gewicht, Oberfläche und Alter ist. Die Publikation ist der Höhepunkt seiner lebenslangen Studie - hier ist jede Fotografie eine neue künstlerische Analyse aus geologischer, nostalgischer oder wissenschaftlicher Perspektive. Es ist eine eigensinnige Untersuchung ohne Fragen, denn es können keine Antworten gefunden werden.

Nach der Tate Modern und der LA Art Book Fair stellt Johan Rosenmunthe seine Publikation erstmals in Deutschland vor – auf eine unorthodoxe Art und Weise. „Tectonic Crystal Healing“ ist irgendwo zwischen interaktiver Performance und Skulptur angesiedelt. Das Buch ist 2014 bei „Self Publish, Be Happy“ in London erschienen.

Johan Rosenmunthe, geboren 1982 in Aarhus, wurde an der Fatamorgana, der dänischen Schule für Kunstfotografie, ausgebildet und studierte Humanwissenschaften an der Universität Roskilde. Er ist Mitbegründer des kuratorischen Kollektivs und Verlagshauses „Lodret Vandret“, des Ausstellungsortes „New Shelter Plan“ und des Kunstbuchfestivals „One Thousand Books“. Johan Rosenmunthe lebt und arbeitet in Kopenhagen.

Publikation 128 Seiten, 84 Farbbilder, Hardcover Lithographie, erschienen bei SPBH Edition, Auflage 1.000 Stück
Preis 54 Euro
Beginn 16 Uhr
Ort C/O Berlin . Amerika Haus . Hardenbergstraße 22–24 . 10623 Berlin